Welcome to Librarium Online!
I was thinking about using three zoanthropes with Psychic Scream, and a walking Hive Tyrant with Shadow in the Warp, maybe even a flying hive tyrant with Psychic scream as well.
Would this work against Lash of Submission?
Do they have to make a leadership test (psychic scream affected) or a psychic test (Shadow of the Warp) or both? Is their leadership at -3 for the psychic test if they are in range?
the hard part is getting in range with enough zoans and its not exactly sure fire tactic either. I'd personally just kill the sorcerer. Try venom cannons. lots and lots of them.
Not really, with the new run ability you can get 12" across the board and psychic scream has an 18" range.
Thanks for the advice but you haven't answered my question.
Psychic scream says -1 to all leadership tests, does this affect a psychic test?
Last I checked a psychic test was a form of a Ld check. I'm pretty sure this still holds true for 5th as I cannot think of why it would not. So yes, that group would mean they roll 3D6, take the two highest, and get -1 to the check for each Zoanthrope in range. I have actually had some success using this method but it is by it's very nature hit and miss.
I think lash of submission has a slightly longer range than your psychic screams. Therefore I would suggest timing your use of this power. If you can keep his Sorcerer busy with Zoanthropes you are more or less forcing him to waste his Sorcerer. However lash of submission is meant to keep you busy and if you use too much stuff to go after the Sorcerer then you are doing his job for him. Lash of submission I think is used like a shooting attack so you could try to dump cannon fodder in his way so he only move rubbish units with it before you kill him. Or you can just use a winged Hive tyrant beefed up for assault anf hop from cover to cover to avoid being moved away, then use the Tyrant to kill the Sorcerer in assault.
I'm not sure who you have played against but the guy I have played against does not use Lash to "keep me busy".
Every turn he would pull a unit out from behind cover and into the open, then destroy it with long range fire. He would do this with a hive tyrant as well. With the new rules there is no area terrain so I can only use lgarge buildings wth no holes in them to hide behind and they're few and far between.
He would destroy a unit per turn like this and with two you can imagine it doesn't take long before I have nothing left.
Still, my original question was "does lash require a psychic test or a leadership test?"
Someone has answered that it does, BUT does Shadow of the Warp affect it then? Shadow is for psychic powers, so is Lash a psychic power?
Last edited by knightenfex; October 8th, 2008 at 06:47.
The lash is a psychic test and as all psychic test are done with leadership. If you nerf leadership the psychic tests will start to fail but seriously you would need 2 tyrants with screams and 3 zoans to pull it off and then you are throwing an awful lot of points after the lashes. Its alot easier to kill them just oneshot them with a venom cannon. tyrant venom cannons work nicely if you have the +1S you will only need 3 hits to kill one sorce not in termy armor for termies you will need 6 hits. as the psyker needs to have LoS it will allways be visable to you.
And all that killyness is also good for destroying the rest of the army your up against.
Well I'm going with the three psychic screams and Shadow of the Warp anyway. I want to try it out and the -leadership modifiers are sure to be good to help win combats and make people fail tests.
I also went a little crazy and made a 89 point Hive Tyrant! He carries the Shadow and has two Spinefists, lol.
Anyway you guys keep saying, "Kill the Sorcerer." What if he's attached to a squad? Can't exactly one-shot him then.
Another solution is to just engage that squad in combat as fast as possible, either with flankers or just plain hormagaunts. Lash can be used instead of shooting so if he is in combat then he can't use it. Also depending on what squad he is in you can pin the squad and then he can't use it either.
What does lash mean?