battle wagons - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50

Thread: battle wagons

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -13 (x0)

    battle wagons

    ok im now running a list with 2 battle wagons as dedicated transports.

    1st deff roller red paint job, and armour plates.
    2nd 4 big shoota's

    has anyone has any experience with these configurations, especailly configuration #1.

    also can i have one unit disembark then another unit embark during the same turn.

    ei: the BW moves 12 unloads some nobs then some regular troops move within 2"s and jumps in??


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Torn ACL FTL ==Me=='s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Age
    28
    Posts
    4,404
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    431 (x8)

    The first BW needs a weapon or it will get immobilized quickly. 2 big shootas and grot riggers I consider standard on Battlewagons to keep them rolling. 4 big shootas are ok, but it seems like a waste of its transport capacity.

    If I were fielding a shooty BW I'd run a killkannon, kannon, and 4 big shootas. Loadsa dakka, but not as effective as a transport.

    As for the rules question, I'm not entirely sure but ==My== gut says no. Where's Rork when we need him?
    Check out ==My== blog: www.bnhblog.blogspot.com

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -13 (x0)

    wouldnt the deff roller be considered a weapon under if a player gets a weapon destroyed roll?? im trying to keep the price down a bit. i may add the grot riggers though. as for capacity, once it drops its load its will just be raming shhht.

    as for the other wagon once it drops its load it will be there just to pop shots at people and distract. it most likely wont move to much. i wish i could buy more cheapo guns for it

  5. #4
    LO Zealot mynameisgrax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Freehold, NJ
    Posts
    4,014
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    511 (x8)

    Dunno

    I'm honestly not sure if the deffrolla counts as a weapon or not. I'd give it a big shoota in any case. The extra shooting never hurts.

    I'm not a fan of the 'shooty' battlewagons. A unit of 10-15 lootas can put out a lot more 'hurt' than a single loaded up battlewagon, and contrary to what you might think, the lootas have a better chance of surviving as well (as long as they're in cover). If you're going go for a shooty/destructive battlewagon, I'd give it a deffrolla, a killkannon, a kannon (for when/if the killkannon is destroyed), and grot riggers.

    I usually only use battlewagons as transports, and I usually equip them like this: big shoota, grot riggers, and if you like, deffrolla and/or armor plates. Really, only the big shoota and grot riggers are strictly necessary.

    Grot riggers are a fantastic upgrade given their low cost and relatively good chance of sucess. I'd take them over armor plates any day.
    "Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru.../mynameisgrax/

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -13 (x0)

    does the grot riggers work when you get a crew stuned/shaken which ever one that doesnt allow you to move

    also when ramming vehicles/armour with deff rolla and if i plan to move 13 but reach the armour at 6 hit and destroy do i still get to continue my movement.

    and just for confirmation skimmers get some sort of save vs ramming correct.

  7. #6
    LO Zealot mynameisgrax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Freehold, NJ
    Posts
    4,014
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    511 (x8)

    Please capitalize, you're hurting my brain

    No, grot riggers doesn't prevent 'stunned', but 10 points seems like a lot to pay for armor plates, considering they only prevent a result that comes up only 16% of the time when you receive vehicle damage, especially considering the damage only lasts a single turn. Grot riggers gets the vehicle moving again, which is a lot more useful in the grand scheme of things.

    You can keep moving as you like. If it's destroyed, you really can't pass over it, and if it explodes it's difficult terrain, but in any case you could just turn away and keep moving with the rest of your movement.

    All skimmers have a 4+ save versus being rammed, but I don't see anything that suggests that they get it against the deffrolla.
    "Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru.../mynameisgrax/

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -13 (x0)

    I though on a penetrating hit a vehicle is always shaken & stunned. Maybe that is just 4th ed. I actaully havent played for a few months and im just preparing for the gt in MD.

    Is the armoured roof thing worth it?

    With a deff rolla against armour being that its not a power weapon, and it doesnt have an ap when it damages does it get a minus 1 on the vehicle damage chart?

    Same question for ramming?

  9. #8
    LO Zealot mynameisgrax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Freehold, NJ
    Posts
    4,014
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    511 (x8)

    A thousand times 'no'

    You're only automatically shaken and stunned in 4th edition. In 5th edition, you suffer no other penalties unless special rules say you do (some weapons always cause at least a stunning result, etc.).

    The armored roof, or 'ard case, might be worth it for vehicles you don't intend to be transports, but you should never use it on any vehicle that carries troop, because it keeps it from being open topped. If it isn't open topped, then units can't assault the same turn they leave it, and they can't all fire out of the vehicle at once. Never use an ard case unless you're sure that you're never going to use it as a transport. Of course, it's a little expensive even then. I generally don't use it.

    Since it isn't an AP 1 weapon, then no, you don't get the +1 to the vehicle damage resolution. It's just a normal attack that automatically hits d6 times, with strength 10. The same goes for ramming, you don't get the +1.

    I just realized something. Since it isn't an 'assault' attack, I don't believe you automatically hit the back armor when ramming with it, which makes sense. You use the armor of the side you actually hit.

    That is, unless anyone else has heard differently?
    "Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru.../mynameisgrax/

  10. #9
    AKM
    AKM is offline
    Ork Strategizt AKM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    547
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x2)

    I just realized something. Since it isn't an 'assault' attack, I don't believe you automatically hit the back armor when ramming with it, which makes sense. You use the armor of the side you actually hit.

    That is, unless anyone else has heard differently?
    Never heard differently, and I assume you're right.

    Regarding skimmers, I would allow them the 4+ save to escape the deffrolla, though. Seems fair, even if it's unclear in the rules.

    And I regard the deffrolla as absolutely essential, not only because it hits hard, but also because it counts as a reinforced ram and allows the wagon to re-roll difficult terrain tests. Thus, your battlewagon should always stay in/behind cover, except perhaps the turn when it moves forward to disgorge 20 angry orks.
    "Politics is the womb in which war develops"
    Clausewitz

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -13 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by mynameisgrax View Post

    Since it isn't an AP 1 weapon, then no, you don't get the +1 to the vehicle damage resolution. It's just a normal attack that automatically hits d6 times, with strength 10. The same goes for ramming, you don't get the +1.
    Thanks for all the help, but i think you didnt understand my question. Being that the deff rolla is not a power weapon, and it also doesnt have an ap value. When attacking armour then rolling on the vehicle damage chart are you at -1 for lack of an ap.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts