Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So a while ago I was playing a friend who was trying out a drop pod army and I had a nasty thought. Can a Lictor Deep Strike into a drop pod? Correction, actually when I was thinking about this I had acutally destroyed the pod, but it hadn't exploded, so I suppose this situation won't arise as often. The reasoning goes like this: Lictors can only enter in area terrain, when a vehicle is wrecked it becomes terrain and since the doors have already blown it seems to me it would be much like a ruin; which the rulebook clearly states are area terrain.
Not sure how it works out fluff-wise, but from what I can tell it seems sound via the rules.
A surviving drop pod I wouldn't allow, because it counts as a vehicle instead of terrain, but once you destroyed it without annihilating it I could definitely see the rules supporting it. It's area terrain, no problemo.
My gaming group's new motto: That army you're using is overpowered because it hurts my guys, codex is broken and needs a rewrite.
There's two rationales why you can't do this, the first is rules as written, the second is from fluff.
RAW: Lictors may deepstrike into AREA terrain. When a vehicle is destroyed it becomes terrain, this is NOT the same thing as area terrain. Only pieces of terrain specifically designated as such is area terrain. Note that this is a change in the wording of the rules for 5th ed. Thus, unless you can get your oponents to agree that destroyed vehicles should be area terrain (which has tons of other implications that I won't get into, but suffice it to say I think this is wrong) you can't deepstrike into it RAW.
Fluff: Lictor deepstrike is based off of having been hidden in the jungle for monthes if not years. They've been there hiding, invisible for a long time and then pop out to eat stuff. Drop pods enter the atmosphere burning off anything on the outside of them so they can't hide there. Inside is filled to the brim with Marines packed in like sardines, again, no place to hide there.
So from both a rules perspective and a fluff perspective you can't do it, awesome as it would be, it just isn't kosher under 5th ed rules.
~2k of genestealery goodness
~1750points of terminator goodness
Dovie'andi se tovya sagain
more witty remarks to come.
I definatly see where you are coming from with the rules, I'll try to come up with a good counter argument. I haven't seen a drop pod model in person, though my friend should have one soon, but from the pictures I've seen it looks like once the hatches are down you could shoot through it, but it would grant a cover save. This seems much more like a ruin or forest than other vehicles, which are much more solid. If you look at the rules for buildings and ruins on page 80 of the rulebook it says that building are solid pieces of terrain that you cannot place models inside. Ruins on the other hand you can place models inside of. From that it seems like the majority of vehicles that became wrecked should count as buildings, but drop pods and perhaps other open topped vehicles would count as wrecks.
About the fluff, why couldn't the lictor have been hiding nearby and only recently snuck into the now empty drop pod? It just decided that the newly toasted drop pod would make a good place to leap out from. I'm not suggesting that it would have ridden down or been hiding in it all along, that is pretty silly.