Welcome to Librarium Online!
A necron Lord with Res Orb is within Res Orb distance of a warrior unit. The Necron Lord is killed. Then the Warrior unit suffers several hits from strength 8 or 9 weapons. On the next turn the Necron Lord gets his WBB role. He would even get his WBB roll if he were killed by a Lascannon.
BUT, what happens to the warriors who were killed (again, by weapons 2x strength greater than toughness) while the Necron Lord was down?
The Codex and the official FAQ do not directly address the problem, and in fact, the official FAQ discusses range to 'THE ORB', while the Necron Armory discusses range to 'HIM' (which I have taken to mean the Lord with the OR. So, for the Lord with the Orb, it works even if the Lord is dead. But, does it work for nearby units even though the lord is dead?
The new FAQ on Necrons answers a lot of Res Orb questions that come up. Here's the link:
Bottom line on this is - check for Res Orb (and all other WBB conditions EXCEPT range to another like unit) when the model dies. If there's not a live Lord with a Res Orb when the model dies, you don't get Res Orb.
I posted this on another thread, but it pretty much goes over all the mess that is WBB:
WBB is rolled at the beginning of the Necron turn, prior to any other events, including rally checks and running. (Monolith WBB is rolled in the movement phase.)
As already indicated, Necrons get WBB unless they're insta-killed, slapped with a power-weapon, or lose combat, break, and get caught in a Sweeping Advance. WBB checks for all of its conditions when the model dies, EXCEPT having another model within 6".
In other words - Necrons killed in the close combat itself will still get up if the squad is caught by sweeping advance, provided the same Necron models are within 6". Only the ones caught in the Sweeping Advance will not get WBB saves. Likewise, Res Orbs check when the model dies - if the model dies, and then the Lord does, the model get the Res Orb benefits, but models that die after the Lord will not. (A Lord lying down and waiting for a WBB roll does NOT confer Res Orb benefits to models that die after he does.)
If a unit breaks and runs, and this causes there to be no models within 6" at the beginning of the turn, the models do not get WBB. If there's another squad within 6", but not their original, they will get WBB and will join that closest squad within coherency. Dead models awaiting WBB DO NOT MOVE WITH THE SQUAD. (Yes, even if the squad moves through dangerous terrain, wounds itself, and then is ported through the Monolith - the dead guy stays where he died.)
Basically, if a model is dead and awaiting WBB, consider it dead. Events that happen following to its death make no difference to it whatsoever. (e.g. the above mentioned sweeping advance of its original squad, or the movement of the squad due to another condition.) This also means you do not consider them part of their original squad. They'll simply join whatever squad is closest to them when they get up. (Usually their original.)
Res Orbs override two specific conditions: the power weapon and instant dead. Sweeping advance kills can NEVER receive WBB. The Necron unit receiving Res orb benefits must have one model with in 6" of the Lord for the whole unit to receive these benefits. This differs from WBB itself, however, which checks by the model. (On that note, all WBB rolls are simultaneous; no, you may not roll the one model within 6" then roll the rest of the squad after that!) Res Orbs do not override the 6" matching model rule, with the sole exception of the Lord himself. (Lord will always have the benefits of the Res Orb, if he is carrying one, and never needs another Lord within 6" to WBB.)
Finally, the two that are pretty clear, but should be pointed out anyway, because WBB is a rules nightmare: To WBB, the Necron must have the same model (warrior to warrior, wraith to wraith, etc.) within 6". Warrior to Immortal does not work.
If a Tomb Spider is within 12" of the model trying to WBB, it alters this rule - if there is another living model of the same kind on the board, then the unit may roll. That's it. No re-rolls, no Res Orb effects, nada. Just that you don't have to keep a tight phalanx.
Last edited by SMann233; October 18th, 2008 at 03:29.
I still say necrons can get up from a sweeping advance....
ahrg, stupic confuzing rules, we need our new codex
Yes, I did deep-strike your sister...
Necrons : W-8 D-3 L-7 (Sleeping in their TombFoam, waiting for a new codex)
Chaos Forces (CSM/CD): W-42 D-19 L-28
Apocalypse Games : W-4 D-0 L-1 (4 Titans, Brass Scorp, 3 Baneblades, 2 Bombers, 3 Fighters, and a Partrage in a Pear Tree)
I was pretty peeved when I played last night... 1000pt game, took 4 destroyers and 1 heavy destroyer. The heavy destroyer shot at a full Ork Trukk and rolled a 2 to hit. Next turn they took him out and since he was all alone didn't get a WBB roll. What a wasted 63 points. =(
Yeah, it confused me at first too. We figured it out eventually, but the new FAQ emphasises that WBB checks are made when the model dies. (Excpet for the 6" same model rule, which the codex says checks when they're making the rolls.) So, since the Lord is checking against his own orb when he dies, he'll get its effects. (Plus the entry for the Orb says he always gets its effects regardless.)
Vampire Counts Progress Log [W:2 D:1 L:1]
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda