Shadow Field - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Shadow Field

  1. #1
    Member ironfist26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Shadow Field

    Can a archon on a jetbike use shadow field?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Slaaneshi Battle Barge CO
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Age
    43
    Posts
    1,508
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    127 (x5)

    Yes, they most certainly can.
    "Is Archon Braigh-Dee going to have to choke a Wych?

    Courtesy of Wicky: D.C.S.S.E.P.C.I.C.B.

  4. #3
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Psyan has it right, a Shadowfield is simply wargear just the same as the Reaver Jetbike is and there is no rule mutually excluding each other.

    Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  5. #4
    Member Gardeth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Age
    34
    Posts
    527
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    78 (x2)

    I would go so far as to say that an Archon on jetike HAS to have a shadowfield...otherwise whats the point?

  6. #5
    Member ironfist26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks but doesn't it say in the codex that is using shadow field is counted as using fleet of foot? Jetbikes are not able to use fleet of foot so how does that work?

  7. #6
    Member Gardeth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Age
    34
    Posts
    527
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    78 (x2)

    I honestly don't know where you could have gotten that from, the shadow field is a piece of wargear and doesn't affect movement at all.

  8. #7
    Member ironfist26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    "...shadow fields are rare, so no more than one shadow field may be taken per army. Depspite having a 2+ save, the model is still considered as being fleet of foot."

  9. #8
    Senior Member andrewthotep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    In a box under the stairs.
    Posts
    529
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    I had always taken this statement with the army-wide special rules on p4 of the codex merely to assert that the owner of the Shadowfield retains its Fleet of Foot despite now having a much better armour save.

    The Shadowfield doesn't give the owner FoF, so no problem hopping onto a reaver while using it.

  10. #9
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Hi,
    There is a general race specific ruling in DE that states that anything with an original save better than 4+ does not have Fleet of Foot.

    The Shadowfield gives a model the ability to enhance its normal save to 2+, so this would invoke the above general ruling – no fleet for you.

    But, there is an allowance in the last sentence of the SF’s rule that overrides this – so we are back to square one, you can have fleet if your original save is less than 4+.


    So we have a model with the combined abilities of Fleet, a 2+ save and being on a Jetbike.

    Fleet and the JB are differing means of movement and when you choose to mount a JB there are no rules to dismount, hence you must use that mode of transport only thereby making Fleet inaccessible.

    Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  11. #10
    Member ironfist26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I understand now
    thanks for you help
    peace

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts