Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I need sum uder orky to krump me over da 'ead, cause I don't understand me superior warbosses
In other words, I have questions about the bosspole that every Ork general swears by. I'm not to experienced yet with orks or even 40k so I'm trying to understand the rules for bosspoles and why "they must" be taken. Fortunately a majority of my questions have been answered by this thread:
Boss Pole Rules by coldblooded3k
Here are my questions...patients please!
1.) When saving a wound taken for a re-roll can I use cover save from a KFF?
2.) Also, due to the Mob Rule! doesn't this mean that the boss pole is only useful for units reduced to 10 or below?
Thanks in advance!
2 - Yes, the bosspole is only useful if the squad is at 10 or below. If you have a squad of 20 or below orks to start off with you're probably going to want the bosspole.
My blog - http://wingsofsanguinius.blogspot.com
Been here nearly 10 years and still haven't managed 500 posts.
Now the grey area - should a unit of 20+, or more often, a unit of 30, spend the points on a bosspole?
To mathhammer it out, without a bosspole, you have around a 60% chance of passing the leadership check, a little better than 50/50 (assuming you're using leadership 7). With the bosspole, those odds increase to around 84%. That's a great jump for only a low cost. A good rule of thumb to remember is that a re-roll on a leadership save effectively raises your leadership by 2. So instead of a leadership of 7, they effectively have a leadership of 9.
That's a great bonus for a very low cost. I'd never field a unit of boyz without one. I'd cut out a single boy first, if I needed the points that badly.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."