devilfish question!!! - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    27
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    devilfish question!!!

    i have a question about devilfish that i hope someone can answer or atleast give there opinion.

    ok, my question is: is the devil fish a dedicated transport for regular fire warrior troops or can it be taken as a separate troops choice. ive seen many people say on here that if you take one you must take it as a transport for the fire warriors and then it can do what it wants but in the codex it doesnt say that specifically (except for the pathfindes, but i already knew that). also, if it is its own choice for troops, can it take objectives?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Firefly Skarsgard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Outer Rim
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,209
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    It can contest objective but cannot capture them as it is a vehicle.

    It is a dedicated transport and is allocated to the unit that bought it. It can be used to transport any legally viable (i.e. not jetpack units etc) unit after the game starts.
    Mirage Arcana Podcast
    The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    27
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    what makes it a 'dedicated' transport? nowhere in the codex does it say that the devilfish has to be taken by a unit(except the pathfinders), and its listed as a troops choice. also, in the fire warrior description, it says that fire warriors "MAY" be mounted in a devilfish, and the devilfish description says that the devilfish "CAN" carry certain types and amounts of models. so thats kind of contradictory to that explanation.

  5. #4
    Member Nyxos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    California
    Age
    26
    Posts
    137
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    Even though it can be taken as a troop choice, it is still a vehicle. Thus it can't capture points, it can only contest them. (Pg. 90 in the rulebook)
    Last edited by Nyxos; October 29th, 2008 at 02:02.


    Green Tide: 4000pts

  6. #5
    Member LLPaulJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Universe
    Age
    28
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    If you take it as a dedicated transport for a firewarrior squad, and the squad is mounted in the devilfish, it can claim an objective.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey View Post
    ...That's probably why it's 'Heroic' and not 'Lame 5th Turn Intervention'.

  7. #6
    Member Nyxos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    California
    Age
    26
    Posts
    137
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by LLPaulJ View Post
    If you take it as a dedicated transport for a firewarrior squad, and the squad is mounted in the devilfish, it can claim an objective.
    This is true, but it seems to be a bit of a waste. I use kroot and/or firewarriors sitting beside a landed or flying DF to claim a point. This helps to cover them and then if something really tough comes, they can embark and take off so they don't get tied up in assault.


    Green Tide: 4000pts

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts