Monith Reserves Question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member ethan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Monith Reserves Question

    on the monolith's Power Matrix special rules about warriors "eligible to enter play from reserve" they have to come out of the monolith, i asume "eligible" means you must have passed your reserve roll but am not quite sure just asking for clarification

    thanks,
    ethan


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Actually i just read this in the necron FAQ :

    Q. Can units of Necron Warriors enter from
    reserve as normal or must they enter via a
    Monolith?
    A. If the players hold any units of Necron
    Warriors in reserve, he must specify if they are
    going to enter the game through the Monolith or
    simply walk in from their own table edge, as
    normal. If units of Warriors are using this rule
    and all available Monoliths are destroyed, the
    Warriors count as destroyed and may therefore
    trigger the Phase Out of the on-table portion of
    the army.

    Q. If a Monolith held in reserve becomes
    available, what happens to any squads of
    Warriors also held in reserve?
    A. When rolling for regular reserves that include
    a Monolith and one or more squads of Necron
    Warriors that are using their reserves special rule,
    roll for reserves as normal. If the Monolith is
    available, it can enter the table following the
    normal reserves rules as described in the
    Warhammer 40,000 rulebook. If any of the
    squads of Warriors also become available, one
    must now be deployed via the Monolith’s portal
    ability. If one or more of these squads become
    available, but there are not enough Monoliths on
    the table (yet) to allow them all to move onto the
    table, the units that cannot enter will be delayed,
    as described in the Deep Strike Mishap table.

  4. #3
    Member zippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    in short.

    You have to declare reserve or deepstrike.

    if you say deepstrike they have to come through lith but roll like deepstrike normal.

    Lith dies - they die - count towards phase.
    Army » « Necrons » « Tyranids

  5. #4
    No Life King Alzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin/Minnesota, USA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,819
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    324 (x8)

    it could be really handy to keep a squad of warriors in reserve to enter board edge. Gives a squad that will be protected near the back edge that comes in later so is not an immediate target. Also has the potential to come onto the board and get in range of an enemy squad for rapid-fire in the later game I suppose.
    Someday I'll have enough warriors to try this. >>

  6. #5
    Senior Member grantneodude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Age
    27
    Posts
    516
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x2)

    Reading that second question seems to be a warning in that if you have Necrons available that are opting to come through the Monolith they have the chance of being destroyed.

    If you don't have a monolith available to teleport them in you roll on the deep strike mishap table. That gives them a chance of death. Only question then would be what happens if you roll the bad coordinates one where your opponent gets to place them? Do they get placed as normal as in your opponent places them, or what? Guess I don't know the wording on this ability well enough.

    Thoughts on that though? Perhaps you think I'm way off base but...

    Edit: never mind. It is just saying they go back in reserves isn't it. now I feel silly.
    Tyranids & Daemons: Soul & Biomatter please.

    LO Rules

  7. #6
    The Biker Marine SmokWawelski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Crestwood, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,618
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    Seems to me that it is better (safer) to have all the Warriors on the table and move them through the portal from there... Or put the Lith on board and hope for lucy rolls....

  8. #7
    Member zippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    remember that your phase out is lower as long as units are in reserve.
    Army » « Necrons » « Tyranids

  9. #8
    Senior Member lLonginus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maine, USA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    128 (x4)

    For the short answer, ethan, yes, you have to make a successful reserves roll in order to bring such a unit of warriors in through the Monolith. Everything else you definitely need to consider though, especially units not counting towards your phase out when in reserve.
    My gaming group's new motto: That army you're using is overpowered because it hurts my guys, codex is broken and needs a rewrite.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts