Haemonculus with a Stinger, Exploding the Nightbringer - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    The Keenest of Eyes The Hawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Soaring through Darkness
    Posts
    672
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    190 (x3)

    Haemonculus with a Stinger, Exploding the Nightbringer

    Greetings fellow 40K minds (like the title)
    Anyway, I was in a bit of a situation here with a Necron player. Let me lay it out for you.

    • C'Tan Nightbringer was 12 inches away from a lone Haemonculus with a Stinger after a terrible round of gauss weaponry straight to my warriors left him stranded
    • Thank the heavens it was my turn. And thank the heavens after an absolutely delightful shooting phase from the previous turn by 4 Dark Lances (courtesy of your friendly, neighbourhood Ravager and Raider), it was down to its last wound. The look on my opponent's face was telling a story. "He is a god!"
    • I decided I may as well take the risk and shoot the NB with the Stinger. I managed to hit on a 5, and being able to wound on a 2+, it was inevitable that I would wound too.
    • And wouldn't you believe it, THE NIGHTBRINGER FAILED ITS SAVE! HAH! No wounds left, and I say to my opponent, "Well, he was a god!"
    • But then something hit me, a model that dies by the effect of a stinger explodes, using a blast marker and a C'Tan that dies by the effect of its last wound explodes too, using another blast marker, or in this case a Large BM.
    Now there was time for speculation. I said to my opponent that the Stinger template should be used with the normal rules for it (ie. AP = Sv, S = T), but he insisted that the original "C'Tan Bomb" be used.
    And my question: who is right? Me? Him? Or are both templates used? Or worst case scenario, none?
    Any ideas would be good!
    Also, if there is something I am overlooking here, then I would like to know, such as a rule or special rule.

    Fly High!

    Light a fire for a man, and he will be warm for a night. Light a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member kerpal_g's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    30
    Posts
    485
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Tricky one! You could do them both, or if you're arguing over which one SHOULD be used instead of the other, you can roll a D6 each and whoever scores highest gets to choose. Or have a samurai duel to the death, and whoever lives gets to choose. Because the other will be dead, and dead people arent choosers!

  4. #3
    Son of LO ArtificiallyEnhanced's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    My house, the UK
    Posts
    2,490
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    321 (x8)

    Use both, both special rules would apply.
    http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!


  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    61 (x0)

    Yeah, I don't see any reason both wouldn't go off.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    philly PA
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    funny story, have to try it my self. anyway you probly should have used both (just for the fun of it), but if never of you new the D6 roll would have been suficant.

  7. #6
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Weird!

    I don’t think that this is covered by the Rules Book and is a clash between Codex’s only – so I see that both actions must be applied to satisfy both Codex’s.

    The small marker is a result of the weapon and the large marker is the result of the model

    One for the rules forum I think!
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  8. #7
    Dark Eldar Gerbil Splata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    159 (x5)

    Both.

    Both are different special rules. It is only fluff that makes you think that they should not be both used. And we both know fluff doesn't mean much.

    This said, you will be usinga small blast template on the C'Tan, This will hardly reach over his baseline. Basically doing nothing.
    Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
    Dear Game Developer,
    Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
    Signed Scissors.

    WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
    http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=149386

  9. #8
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Splata View Post
    Both.


    This said, you will be usinga small blast template on the C'Tan, This will hardly reach over his baseline. Basically doing nothing.

    Good point Splata, I had not considered this and really emphasizes that a lack of scatter can be bad.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  10. #9
    Archite of Caerbannog KwiKwag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    SJ Bay Area
    Posts
    1,582
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    225 (x6)

    LOL, that was classic!

    I would say both. The C'Tan model is more of a representation of a god's presence on our plane rather than the model being "exactly" him. This would help the fluff that this physical representation vessel (on our plane) explodes from the stinger and then the space-time continuum implodes/explodes with the sudden vacuum of released energy (the actual "connection" to our plane suddenly being severed and causing a reaction).

    Other than that would the explosion really make a difference? Were there surrounding models nearby?
    "On a hunch, I melted them down and inhaled the fumes and read the dark eldar codex again, AND FOUND A BUNCH OF NEW RULES HIDDEN BEHIND THE OTHER WORDS..." [Gardeth on modelling & interpreting the DE Codex]

  11. #10
    Member zippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    where in the necron book is the thing about exploding necron c'tan?
    Army » « Necrons » « Tyranids

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts