Do wraiths got 2 close combat weapons? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Member chaosjacob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    23
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Do wraiths got 2 close combat weapons?

    The Necron codex says:

    "Wraith
    Weapons: Claws and barbed tail."

    Does this mean it got 2 close combat weapons, or just one?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    No Life King Alzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin/Minnesota, USA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,819
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    324 (x8)

    Wraiths have just one close combat weapon otherwise it would have said "this counts as two close combat weapons." They already have X attacks at SX, wraiths are not front line combat units either way though so they have plenty of hits to take down heavy weapon teams.
    Last edited by Karmoon; November 11th, 2008 at 17:51.

  4. #3
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    No.

    Wraiths have the basic 3 attacks each as on profile, that is all...

    I think this is the 4th time i've seen this thread on LO, and if it spills onto a second page again ill make sure the thread is locked

  5. #4
    Senior Member aetherguy881's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    551
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Phoenix View Post
    No.

    Wraiths have the basic 3 attacks each as on profile, that is all...

    I think this is the 4th time i've seen this thread on LO, and if it spills onto a second page again ill make sure the thread is locked
    I've seen this argument several times on several sites, and I have never seen a definitive answer. They either die, or are locked...

    I checked all the FAQ's and neither make any statement about the wraiths number of attacks. As the rules are written, they have their base 3 attacks. In addition they can get one for charging, and one for the 2 close combat weapons. Thus 5 on the charge and 4 every subsequent turn of combat.

    The base attacks is just that, a base to work from. Just how certain space marines have 1 attack and others have more than that.

    Summing this up, 3 is their base, the gain +1 for 2 CC weapons and +1 for charging.
    |T|O|O|-|L|A|Z|Y|-my anti-drug

    The rep button () is your friend!

    Be off-topic and visit www.theopia.com

    Space Wolves (500) 6-0-3

  6. #5
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by aetherguy881 View Post
    Summing this up, 3 is their base, the gain +1 for 2 CC weapons and +1 for charging.
    Are you just trying to wind me up??

    No, they have 3. There is your definitive answer. 3 Attacks. +1 on the charge. Done.

  7. #6
    Senior Member aetherguy881's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    551
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x2)

    No, I'm not trying to, sorry if I am.

    Why wouldn't they get the 5th attack from 2 CC weapons? I states that they have 2 in their profile. Also, the rule book doesn't state that the second weapon must be a pistol/assault weapon. Just because it's being said isn't definitive, we need something to back it up.
    |T|O|O|-|L|A|Z|Y|-my anti-drug

    The rep button () is your friend!

    Be off-topic and visit www.theopia.com

    Space Wolves (500) 6-0-3

  8. #7
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by aetherguy881 View Post
    No, I'm not trying to, sorry if I am.
    Lol, just kidding, no worries Just remember, we only have what, 4 posts left til closure?

    Anyway, basically nowhere are ''claws'' and ''barbed tails'' defined as being close combat weapons, its purely what the Wraiths inflict damage with. They may listed as 2 separate entries, but any bonus is already included in the statline.

    Given Wraiths have 2 claws and a tail, then by your logic they have 3 CCWs and hence should get +2A no? No.. instead each of the 3 weapons grants 1A, which sum to 3 in their profile.

    Furthermore, ive never met a Cron player IRL who has tried to get 4A each with them (5 on charge). If i ever did i think id be delivering a slap in return lol. Try it at a tourney, see what happens

    Right.. im done here

  9. #8
    Senior Member Dark Trainer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,877
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    102 (x5)

    I can see the confusion, but the thing that makes it clear for me is. There's no UPGRADE. They are defaulted with the 2 weapons, but also DEFAULT to 3 attacks. That's it. Other units that 'upgrade' a 2nd CC weapon is what adds the additional attack. Wraiths don't get the upgrade choice, so do not gain an additional CC weapon attack. 3 attacks + 1 for charge is all they get.
    "There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

  10. #9
    Senior Member aetherguy881's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    551
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x2)

    Ok, ok, here's the definitive answer we were looking for

    Well, I sent an email to GW and here's what I got.

    Quote Originally Posted by My inquiry to GW
    Hello,
    It does not say 'counts as two close combat weapons' or anything like
    that. It actually has to say the model has two close combat weapons for
    them to get the effect.

    Thanks!

    John Spencer
    Customer Service Specialist

    Please do not delete previous email threads as this will help us serve
    you better!

    Games Workshop
    Customer Service
    6711 Baymeadow Drive Suite A
    Glen Burnie MD 21060

    Games Workshop Customer Service is open:
    Monday through Friday 90 Am to 70 PM EST

    Contact info:
    1-888-248-2335
    custserv@games-workshop.com

    Or visit us online at:
    Games Workshop

    -----Original Message-----
    From: Mark Simmons [mailto:aetherguy881@gmail.com]
    Sent: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 3:46 PM
    To: askyourquestion
    Subject: Re: Necron Wraith Inquiry

    askyourquestion wrote:
    > > Hello,
    > > Necron Wraiths do not have a additional close combat weapon. Neither
    do
    > > Flayed Ones or Scarabs.
    > >
    > > Thanks!
    > >
    > > John Spencer
    > > Customer Service Specialist
    > >
    > > Please do not delete previous email threads as this will help us serve
    > > you better!
    > >
    > > Games Workshop
    > > Customer Service
    > > 6711 Baymeadow Drive Suite A
    > > Glen Burnie MD 21060
    > >
    > > Games Workshop Customer Service is open:
    > > Monday through Friday 90 Am to 70 PM EST
    > >
    > > Contact info:
    > > 1-888-248-2335
    > > custserv@games-workshop.com
    > >
    > > Or visit us online at:
    > > Games Workshop
    > >
    > > -----Original Message-----
    > > From: Mark Simmons [mailto:aetherguy881@gmail.com]
    > > Sent: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 11:56 AM
    > > To: askyourquestion
    > > Subject: Necron Wraith Inquiry
    > >
    > > Hi, I just wanted to get some clarification on the Necron Wraith unit.
    I
    > >
    > > know that they have a base of 3 attacks. The question is, other than
    the
    > >
    > > extra attack from the charge, will they get the extra attack from
    having
    > >
    > > 2 close combat weapons?
    > >
    > > I would like some official backing to this as online forums don't
    always
    > >
    > > provide a solid answer with some backing.
    > >
    > > On a side note, how would this confer to Scarabs and Flayed Ones?
    > >
    > > Thanks
    > > Mark
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > >
    Would you care to describe why? In the codex wraiths are given their
    weapons as "Claws and Barbed Tail." How is that considered one close
    combat weapon?

    Thanks
    Turns out you were right. Sorry, this is how I learned and how I've seen many other people play.

    You learn something new every day.
    |T|O|O|-|L|A|Z|Y|-my anti-drug

    The rep button () is your friend!

    Be off-topic and visit www.theopia.com

    Space Wolves (500) 6-0-3

  11. #10
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Typically though, it's a coin toss as to whether contacting GW will give you a correct answer or not. Luckily in this case, the answer was indeed correct; nowhere does it state that the claws/tail are counted as close combat weapons, thus you can't claim any bonus to having them.

    Just wanted to point out that GW isn't always right about these rules questions when asked, so be cautious taking theirs as the final word.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts