Fortune and null zone - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Fortune and null zone

    hi guys, is there a definitive answer on how these 2 powers work together.

    I.E a 10 man warlock council is under the effect of a SM librarians null zone.

    the council takes 10 wounds, and rolls its saves. saving 6 and missing 4.

    Fortune allows me to re-roll the 4 missed, and null zone forces me to re-roll the 6 saves.

    Does...:

    it end there...the never re-roll a re-roll rule apply.

    the successful re-rolled fortune saves then become subject to null zone as they would be under the effect of both spells.

    the null zone re-roll fails allow fortune to have another crack as those saves havent been re-rolled under fortune.

    im inclined to go with the first option, but the waysome people argue im starting to think ive missed a page somewhere.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by kloma View Post
    it end there...the never re-roll a re-roll rule apply.
    This is the correct answer. It is exactly the same situation as fortune and perils of the warp. You ignore the first result and re-roll. If you are in a hurry, just roll once.


    Homer

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    61 (x0)

    Yeah, it says must reroll successful saves which I would say falls under the "never re-roll a re-roll" rule. Now if it said "Must make 2 successful saves" that might be different, but as it is you just roll twice.

  5. #4
    ISIS Secret Agent Squishy mpdscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Domicile 6-DSt G-Town 3216
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,875
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    332 (x7)

    You just re-roll them all...and since you can only re-roll once, that's it.
    Mysterious Member of the ANZAC Clan

  6. #5
    Nox Archnomad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Scotland, Ayr
    Posts
    1,705
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    147 (x5)

    I would go with the thing from WHFB, Hatred versus the old Armour of Damnation.

    What this was is: re roll all failed hits. Armour makes you re roll all successful hits. What you ended up doing was re roll failed hits, then re roll all the successful ones. See? So in this case:

    say you take 10 4+ invulnerables. Fail 5. Re roll those and pass 3. So 8 passes saves. Then re roll all of those.
    omgitsduane:

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Archnomad
    Well I picked up my first model when I was 7.

    I misunderstood that... ALOT

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SLC, UT
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,059
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x4)

    If you did that though you would be rerolling 3 rerolls which BRB says you don't do, in the end you should reroll all the failed and all the passed, or just roll once and count it to speed the game up. Who cares what the first set of dice would be if your just going to pick them all up.

  8. #7
    Cereal killer Hellbreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Älmhult, Sweden
    Age
    23
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x2)

    the thing is simple, you just don't care about the re-rolls, a simular situation is when Runes of warding, goes up against Shadow in the warp, you just roll like normal. it should be the same when coming to fortune and null zone.
    >:[

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts