Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
in 4th ed. VoD was simple, if you go of the board on on other models, you die, if not you live. but in 5th ed. you roll on a chart. if you get a 5-6 you go back in reserve. dose that mean your lord can leave the game into reserve.
That was how we did it when it happened as it made the most sense. I suppose you could do a house rule on it so it does something different but I don't think that the mishap table really took into account the VoD thing. I would also perhaps recommend that you maybe just make your own chart thing for the VoDing lord.
Make your own chart?? Noooo, that's inviting a lot of trouble. Just play it as you did (5-6 means it'll be gone in reserve, as written).
frankly i like it like that, the delayed result always makes me think that they deep striked somewhere completly different on accident like on another planet in the middle of now where so thay have to take another turn or few to VoD back onto the battle field (espacially if the mishap was scattering off the board)
the group I play with has always kept the Deep Strike mishap chart, though I've yet to have it happen with my Necrons (my Ork friend's Weird Boy has gone into Reserves multiple times because of mishaps). it might not make complete sense, but it's not unreasonable for even Necrons to have Deep Strike complications.