Welcome to Librarium Online!
Quick questions about bomb squigs.
I'm going to use a minimum squad of tankbusters just to get access to bomb squigs. Do the tankbusters need to shoot at the same unit the squig ran after? (assuming a decent roll on the squig attack)
Also, I'm assuming all squigs that you chooose to release that roll 2+ go after the same vehicle. Squigs don't wait to see if a tank goes boom before choosing. Is this a correct assumption?
And finally, when do I choose to use the squig? Can I shoot my rockets, then squig, or must I squig first?
Thanks - I couldn't find this information elsewhere on this site. If someone already posted this, please point me to the way.
you cannot target one of your own units so, a bomb squig mishap hitting your own vehicle would not be consider targeting your own unit, therefor you will still be able target a unit with the remaining members of the squad.
There's no other exception like that made in any codex or in any rule. It doesn't make sense that you have to target what it hits in some cases and not in others. I think that it's not a shooting attack, it's more like a psyker ability that doesn't have a specific target.
I'm almost certain that you can shoot and bomb two different targets. Bomb squig really doesn't choose targets, it just does its thing. The rules in the codex are fairly clear on how bomb squigs target (and fluff wise, its clearly nothing to do with who the orks are shooting at, the squig is chasing after the nearest moving thing it sees) Since codex overrules normal rules, squigs are an allowed exception from my perspective.
However, I'm also not sure how the order of effects work. My group has just agreed declare everything first, then roll. No "Wait and see if bomb squig blows something up" or "let the squig wait to see if rockets blow someting up and chase somethign different" to maximize your turn.
i dont have my book and i dont use tankbusta's, but i was under the impression that a tank busta's unit always move towards and attack the nearest enemy vehicle. im going to have to look it up.
either way from my experience tau are the only army that can legally fire at two seperate units with a single unit. it specifically says it, i dont recall a bomb squig saying anything of the sort and the orks is one of the newest codexs.
Okay, I'm an old tankbusta fan, and although there are some general disagreements regarding the fellows, I think I can clear some things up:
1. The tankbustas 'glory hogs' rule affects shooting and assaulting. It has no effect on the movement phase.
2. It doesn't matter which vehicles are closest when resolving the glory hogs rule. All the rule does is prevent you from shooting at a non-vehicle unit if a vehicle is within line of sight. It doesn't matter if it's within range or not, they'll shoot at it regardless.
3. Releasing bomb squigs is NOT a shooting attack. It's done in the shooting phase and you have to sacrifice one tankbusta's shot for each squig released, but it is not a shooting attack. Therefore...
4. You can shoot at a different unit than the one the bomb squigs are running towards. In fact, you may very well technically have to. This is because of the way shooting is resolved. You have to pick a target to fire at before you resolve the shots. Since the bomb squigs are resolved when the shots are being resolved, this means you have to pick a target for your tankbustas to shoot at BEFORE you know which enemy vehicle is closest. This is because you have to choose your target before measuring. The bottom line: you pick a target, and as you shoot you release the bomb squigs. They resolve as the attack is already under way.
5. The bomb squigs, on a roll of 2+, run towards the nearest enemy vehicle within range, and hit the side they're facing. Since the tankbustas are already firing at a specific enemy by that point, the squigs can't change their target, and the tankbustas can't change the squig's target, because they always run towards the nearest enemy vehicle.
6. On a roll of a 1 it goes towards a friendly vehicle instead, hitting the side it's facing. If there is no friendly vehicle within range, the Squig is just wasted.
7. You can use squigs to hit vehicles you can't see. They go towards the closest, regardless of line of sight.
8. Since the shooting happens all at once, you resolve all released bomb squigs at once. Just imagine them all running toward the nearest enemy vehicle, exploding simultaneously.
Now, there is one important and confusing thing regarding bomb squigs:
What happens when you release a bomb squig while inside a vehicle, and roll a 1? Does it hit the front, side or back of the vehicle? There are two most likely possibilities, although we won't be certain until there's an errata:
1. You can't release them while inside a vehicle.
2. It hits the back armor, since the weirdboy psycic mishap 'ead banger causes a hit against the back armor when inside a vehicle.
Any thoughts on this conundrum?
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
The image of a bomb squig being thrown out a window of a battlewagon, only to turn around and run back while the orks are pointing and yelling is too good to allow 1) to be correct, so it must be 2)