Welcome to Librarium Online!
I'm thinking of getting back into Necrons, and was looking at the lists online. Are "Drop Podding" Crons a viable strategy? By this I mean 2-3 Monoliths 4-6 Warrior Squads, and Fill most of the rest of the points out with Destroyers. The Monoliths DS and let the Warriors out, the Destroyers can come on from reserves and given their move+ range, they can shoot anything on the board that isn't completely hidden.
I don't see any lists built around this idea, so I'm wondering, Is there a reason?
Also, I have a question about VoD. Can the lord enter play from reserves using DS? If not, then can I put him on the board edge, then pick him up and DS him?
As far as the list question goes the main reason I can think of for you not seeing it would be points. In anything less than a few thousand points spending about 500-700 points for 2-3 monoliths will leave you quite low on points for other things. Especially considering minimum troops/lord cost about 500.I would also guess that the cheese factor is there a little bit with three monoliths on the field.
As far as the VoD goes, I believe you can use it even first turn, although not having a codex I'm not sure on that. I'm pretty sure it doesn't give him the ability to DS from reserves, but then again you would need to have two lords in order to do this and I don't see too many lists that run two. Also I think that Necrons don't play too well having to rely on luck if they can help it. A drop pod list like this would be relying on luck to bring in the warriors waiting in reserve and should someone somehow miraculously pop all of your Mono's you've lost those warriors still waiting in reserve. Also I'm pretty sure that PO is calculated on a turn by turn basis on the number of necrons on the field. So having only a few would severely hurt if your opponent decides to focus fire on them and could end with you phasing first or second turn.
ok I'll try to clear up a couple of points with VoD:
1. No you cannot deepstrike the lord from reserves with it.
2. The reason you don't 2 veils is because the codex says one per army.
Also I don't think you need to do reserve rolls for waiting warriors since they just walk out of the portal (I need to read that rule again when I get home).
There is no "I" in "team", there is an "I" in "pie" however, as in "Meat Pie" with "Meat" being an anogram of "Team".
1. O.K. that makes sense.
2. I was thinking having only one VoD but fact is I was reasoning the only way to have a lord in reserves is to have one on the table which I was inferring from the warrior rules for monolith portals. Nice to have that cleared up.
The warriors I'm 99% sure still have to roll regular reserves rolls because they are still in reserve they just have a special way of coming onto the table.
Actually, you are required to roll reserves for warriors waiting to drop in. AND the monoliths, bad dice luck could have your enemy in some really nasty defensive positions, or get you phased out, before your reinforcements arrived.
Having an army formed with two Monoliths and two extra squads of warriors is perfectly viable however. Just don't put all your points in that basket, it would be exceptionally difficult to succeed with such an army. Do mainly to the vulnerability of your force when split up in such a way.
I'm just trying to figure out what strategies are available to Necrons. I like an army that I can collect a lot of and then field in a number of different ways. Right now it seems like most of the "strategies" for Necrons involve maxing out a FOC slot on one type of troop, and then picking the appropriate supporting units.
I'm not sure where the 2 Veil Lord thing came in I know you can only have 1. I was wondering if, when the Lord comes in on reserves (moves on from table edge), you can then deep-strike him? Or does he have to already be on the board?
So, here's a question if PO is determined by the number of Necrons on the board, what happens if there aren't any at the start of battle? (All in Reserves)
I fully expect given the recent trends that DSing will get a boost in the next Necron Dex, besides it seems very fluffy for the Necrons to deploy that way.
Not having Necrons on the field at start is impossible. You HAVE to field at least two units of warriors and you HAVE to have two units be deployed like normal onto the table before you can put ANY into reserve to come in later through the Monolith.
As far as the VoDing goes I believe it happens in the movement phase in place of moving, so bringing a lord out of reserves and then DSing same turn would not be allowed. Also I'm not entirely sure you can even put one in reserve without having another HQ out on the field already. Even then I have no idea whether they can be put in reserve unless your playing like a Dawn of War game where you only start with core on the field anyway.
EDIT: Upon review of the Rulebook unless the necron codex says otherwise you can put a lord into reserve. I guess I never noticed that most armies could start the game with their entire force in reserves if they really wanted to. The warrior thing I'm pretty sure is specific to the monolith portal rules but someone may correct me on that.
I don't have the codex anymore, so I'm going off of memory. I beleive the warriors had to be brought in from the Portal, but nothing was said about any other units held in reserve. This was a moot point last edition because you could only hold units in reserve if they could DS or you were playing escalation. In this edition, any unit can be held in reserve. Of the three deployment types, the only one that states how much you have to deploy is Dawn of War, and it only states that you may have up to one HQ and two Troops. By my reading, it's perfectly possible to start the game with nothing on the table for any army.
Edit: When you say that you HAD to have two warrior squads on the board, was that a Necron special rule that I don't remember?
I'm pretty sure that the monolith portal rules state that you have to deploy two warrior squads before you can put squads into reserve to come through the portal. Again I'm not 100% and someone with access to a codex may correct me but that sounds about right from what I remember.
Also as far as having 0 Necrons on the field that was discussed somewhere else I believe. Don't think there was ever a solid answer really as it depends on how you look at it. Either you never phase out because you don't have any Necrons to lose or (my personal opinion) you automatically phase out immediately because you have 0 Necrons and in order to lose 75% you need to lose 0 so having lost 0 you phase out. But it would be something to discuss within your group.