Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just got a second box set of Striking Scorpions and have decided to give my second Exarch the Chainsabres option for Wargear. What I am curious about though is the pistols thatcome built in. The entry says ""blades paired with...twin-linked Shuriken Pistols". Now does this mean that in the shooting phase the Exarch gets two shots which are twin linked or is it just one shot that is twin linked?My reading of it seems to imply two shots since each gauntlet has a twin linked Shuriken Pistol in it, but I am always bad at interpretting such rules it seems.
I did a quick search before posting but had no luck, any help clarifying would be much appreciated.
It'd be one pistol, one shot. It might be a language hold over from when they used to describe single twin-linked weapons in the plural. Even if there were two pistols it wouldn't matter as you can only fire one weapon per shooting phase, and it doesn't specifically identify the weapon as having a special profile (like the DA exarch's additional shuricat).
I keep forgetting simple, important rules like only 1 shot for infantry. Gah, I'll never get the hang of this game and all its rules.
I guess the twin linked represents the two pistol gauntlets working in unison or something.
There isn't a 1 shot for infantry rule, but I'll try to clarify a little more for you how the weapon rules work. (I'll try, all of this can sound confusing until you've played a few games and seen how it works).
Usually the number of shots a model gets is determined by the weapon they're holding. This is the same for infantry, tanks, bikes, anything. It's all based on the weapon. If you look up the weapon stats (usually conveniently listed at the end of the army list in your codex and also at the end of the main rulebook), you'll see a number after each of them (Heavy 1 or Assault 2 for instance). These are the number of shots you get per shooting phase. So a weapon described as "Assault 2" gets two shots and "Heavy 1" gets one shot. Some generic weapon types, like pistols, have their own rules in the main rulebook instead of on the chart. Pistols always get one shot, for instance. Another exception is Rapid Fire which changes the number of shots you get and the maximum range based on whether or not the model moved that turn. All these extra rules are listed in the weapons section of the rulebook. The description after the weapon tells you which rules apply to that weapon.
Whenever a weapon is described as "twin-linked" that means you have two of the same weapon which are fired together giving you +1 to hit instead of extra shots. In these cases, the original weapon description still applies. So a weapon which is "Assault 2" and is "twin-linked" will get two shots, both at +1 to hit. In your example, pistols have one shot so twin-linked pistols have one shot also, but you can add 1 to whatever you get when you roll to hit. In other cases you may have two of the same weapon which are not twin-linked (for the Eldar, on War Walkers). In those cases you get the full number of shots from each weapon with no bonus to hit.
What I would do if you're having trouble keeping track of all the rules (and there are a lot I know!) is make your army list first, and then go back and re-read the rules for all the weapons and equipment you've included. It might be a good idea to write them down or copy them so you can look at them again when you need to. That way you only worry about the stuff you need to know and you can get around to learning the other stuff later.
Last edited by hrdboild; December 19th, 2008 at 20:09.
This is not the rule anymore, twin linked weapons allow you to re roll all failed rolls to hit, they don't add +1 to hit.Whenever a weapon is described as "twin-linked" that means you have two of the same weapon which are fired together giving you +1 to hit instead of extra shots
Normal infantry are only allowed to shoot one weapon per turn if they have multiple weapons (ie a space marine captain with a melta gun and a storm bolter can either shoot the metal gun or the storm bolter in one turn, but not both). Tanks, monstrous creatures, terminators, and many other models are allowed to shoot more than one weapon per turn.
Last edited by cheart; December 19th, 2008 at 20:33.
Oh, my bad. I forgot about that change. And yeah, it's one weapon for infantry not one shot. I know there are different rules for how many guns vehicles can fire depending on the strength of the weapons and how far they moved, but I thought it was confusing enough already without going into that. I didn't know that terminators can fire more weapons (never been a SM player).
Thanks for explaining the different types of weaponary. I am most familiar with Heavy and Assault weapons, since most Eldar units have one or the other of these. I really should know more bout pistols though, considering that most CC units have them, as well as the Farseer/Warlocks which I almost always field in some kind of Seer Council stylee. Rapid Fire however, is quite uncommon to me. Although I do have a near 2000 point Necron army and the Warriors all tout RF weapons.
As for Twin-Linked, I think the only things I have with TL weapons are my Wave Serpents, and the Scorp Exarch I suppose.