Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hey there I am a veteran player starting 40k orks for the first time. I have a few questions to ask so that I may better define my tactics.
1. Does the deff rolla count as a weapon for the "weapon destroyed" result in the damage table? Personally I'd say no, since on most bw the deffrolla is mainly the front "wheels", meaning that logically if it were "destroyed" the bw itself would be imobillised as well...lol. I'm using logic so I'm probablly wrong...lol
2. With the kustom force field (kff), it says all units within 6' does this mean that if a unit of 30 boys has say 3 models within 6' of the kff they ALL get the save.. Personally I think they do since it says the unit, not any "models within 6"
3. If a Big Mek has a kff on a battlewagon, how is the 6 inches for the kff worked out, from the sides of the battlewagon itself? Or from the centre of the bw (meaning its pointless to put a kff ON a bw as it wouldn't reach any other units).
Thanks for any answers!!!
2nd is right, but I don't know about the other two.
Thanks for that. Yeah I as confident that was how it goes, as a mate told me about it, I wanted a 2nd opinion though, just to make sure it was all legal. Thanks again!
Yes, the KFF works like that, and it's very exploitable. You can literally string your entire army from a single KFF and give everyone the save. However, since it's worse than the normal cover save, it isn't as broken as it sounds.
When inside a vehicle, you measure the KFF from the edge of the vehicle itself. This is the way all similar powers work, unless otherwise specified. Obviously, the vehicle itself also benefits from the field.
Unfortunately, I'm still a little uncertain if the 'weapon destroyed' result can be used to destroy the deffrolla. This is actually quite important, because if it can't and the wagon doesn't have a gun, all 'weapon destroyed' results will immobilize it instead. I'll have to re-check the rules and get back to you, but just to be sure, I'd always attach a gun to every vehicle.
Ok, thanks, yeah I take 2 bigshootas just in case. Personally I think it doesn't count as a "weapon" as such, as using that logic you can destroy, wrecking balls, boarding planks and rams. To me its an option, that has the potential to do damage.
While we are talking about deffrollas, can they affect tanks?? I don't think they can, but with the wording it can kinda be interpreted that they can. As it works with tank shocking and that ramming "is a special kind of TANK SHOCK".....lol.. Just wondering
No, it only works with TANK SHOCK I'm afraid, Gilbertus. There is a difference.
It's like saying sharks aren't fish because an encyclopedia lists them as a 'very special kind of fish'.
The rulebook directlys says that it's a tank shock, so ramming is considered a tank shock. In order for the deffrolla to not apply to vehicles, the codex would have to directly say that it doesn't apply to vehicles, or the next errata will have to cover it. Until then, since ramming is, by the main rulebook, a type of tank shock, then the deffrolla works against vehicles.
Last edited by mynameisgrax; December 23rd, 2008 at 03:34. Reason: forgot one thing
YEE-HAA!!!!!!!!! lol... THANKS!!!! Mynameisgrax
Looks like I'm gonna have to dig up an old thread again. I may be some time...
EDIT: Found it-
http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ules-help.html (Ork rules help)
This states my opinions on the subject of tank shock and ramming being seperate occurences quite strongly, and as such implying that as deffrollas are TS bonuses not TS and ram bonuses you only get them for TSing.
Last edited by ArtificiallyEnhanced; December 23rd, 2008 at 04:06.
I read the other thread, and it seems to be on a different topic. Talking about who can ram or not...
Battlewagons ARE tanks, hence they can tankshock or perform a ram which is a special form of tankshock only tank models can do. The deffrolla works on a tankshock and what the rulebook itself says ramming is a special form of tankshock. If they didn't want the deffrolla to be used in a ram, then it would have been specified in it's entry. Or they just wouldn't have said that ramming is a special kind of tankshock.
Yes it makes the deffrollas worth their weight in gold, but thats what the rulebook says, in black and white