Welcome to Librarium Online!
Basically what i want to know is what initiative Meganobz and Ghazkull Thraka strike at because of their power claws. I have a ork player who think he knows what hes talking about on everything even though i always prove him wrong. Power Claws are supposed to strike at initiative 1 no matter what, meaning that even with the furious charge bonus, is still at initiative 1. Am i wrong in this fact or correct?
You are correct, PKs always swing at I1.
Check out ==My== blog: www.bnhblog.blogspot.com
As ==Me== (not me) said, you are correct. Wait, now I did say it. Stubborn people can be frustrating to deal with but assuming he's reasonable in the face of clear proof you can find everything you need here:
In the latest Ork Codex on page 89 under Ork Wargear, "A power klaw...counts as a power fist in all respects."
So that takes us to the 5th Edition Hardback Rules on Power fists. Page 42, last paragraph of the left column, last sentence, "...power fist are always delivered at initiative 1 (ignore Initiative bonuses from special rules..."
Back to the Ork Codex on page 31, the furious charge rule is in a box of text that is intentionally titled "Ork Special Rules".
The key here is that the Ork codex says "in all respects" and the standard rules clearly state you ignore special rules (i.e. furious charge). So connect the dots for your fellow player and hope he's reasonable, but it's all in the rules quite clearly!
By the way, happy holidays!
The easiest way to remember it is to remember that powerklaws and powerfists ALWAYS strike last. They strike after everything else, even things that strike at initiative 1.
Whatever your initiative is, the powerklaw reduces it to 'going last'.
I don't think that's the case anymore (was in 3rd ed.). If you're fighting, say, a carnifex with I1, you'd strike simultaneously.The easiest way to remember it is to remember that powerklaws and powerfists ALWAYS strike last. They strike after everything else, even things that strike at initiative 1.
"Politics is the womb in which war develops"
Hmm...I'm not sure without the main book, but I'm certain you can't raise the powerklaws to a higher initiative. When assaulting, the powerklaws don't strike at initiative 2.
It's possible that they might strike at the same time as other initiative 1 attacks though.
I think AKM is correct. 5th edition is my first set of rules and the rule book does say "strike at initiative 1" (I actually referenced that line in the above post). I remember reading that equal initiatives strike simultaneously...wow, so in older editions a powerklaw striked after I 1? Punishing.