Devilfish drones are scoring units? Actually, no ... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    I am a free man! number6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Village
    Posts
    4,941
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    786 (x8)

    Devilfish drones are scoring units? Actually, no ...

    At least, according to the INAT FAQ v2.0 (as used by Adepticon) they are. (See p. 68, left column.) INAT notes this is a "RAW" -- literal -- rules interpretation.

    I actually think it makes sense. The devilfish is a Troops choice that doesn't take up a Force Org slot (just like summoned lesser daemons from the Chaos Marines codex), and since the Devilfish is Troops, so are the Drones. Drones, being infantry, are allowed to claim objectives provided they are Troops ... and happily they are!

    However, the obvious implication is that drones from a Devilfish belonging to Pathfinders -- a Fast Attack unit choice -- won't count as scoring units because the Devilfish itself is Fast Attack, just like the Pathfinders.

    I don't think this negates the very great benefits of taking Pathfinders and giving those Devilfish to the Fire Warriors as a way to save points, but it is something to think about. Take two units of Fire Warriors and give them dedicated Devilfish, and you actually have 4 scoring Troops units in the deal. Give Pathfinder Devilfish to Fire Warriors, and while your army list might behave nearly identically, you don't get any piggybacking scoring Troops units as a result.

    ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
    RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    TAU.30E.02 – Q: Do Gun Drones detached from a Fire
    Warrior’s Devilfish count as a scoring unit? Can
    detached Gun Drones contest an objective?
    A: Detached Gun Drones from a Devilfish never count as a
    scoring unit. Gun Drone squadrons can indeed contest an
    enemy scoring unit from claiming an objective
    Sorry, Number6: above is the exact quote from the link you gave us. It specifically states that these drones do NOT count as scoring.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  4. #3
    The deep down truth Rikimaru's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    York
    Age
    51
    Posts
    5,714
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    724 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by eiglepulper View Post
    Sorry, Number6: above is the exact quote from the link you gave us. It specifically states that these drones do NOT count as scoring.

    E.
    Also Devilfish are not a 'troops choice' they are a transport choice that are taken by a troop and it even says in the unit type it is a vehicle. I get so tired of seeing this re-stated over and over again. Detached Gun Drones form an un-scoring 'jump infantry' unit and never form a troops unit. Gun Drones NEVER form a troop unit.
    1984

  5. #4
    Striving for the right Ravenscraig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    In exile on Earth - currently in Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    941
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    144 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by eiglepulper View Post
    Sorry, Number6: above is the exact quote from the link you gave us. It specifically states that these drones do NOT count as scoring.

    E.
    E. has nailed it. The suggestion was made and has been rebutted with the relevant supporting evidence. I therefore judge that no more discussion is necessary in this instance.

    ++ Thread Closed ++

    ~ Raven ~

    "The choice between good and evil, is made by all who live, with every single heartbeat ... ... ..."

    Quote Originally Posted by ZenGamer View Post
    Simple wording. On a forum, any forum, wording is all one has to go by to determine tone and intent.

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts