Welcome to Librarium Online!
I was playing my dad (him being marines and me being necrons) and he had 1 predator left and decided he could possibly come back and phase me out (I had 1 lord with one wound left and 10 warriors). I took ALL of my guys and went after him. all my guys surrounded him (only a few inches from him and I soon learned that was a mistake. I got a few glancing hits with my warriors (had disruption fields) and my lord (w/ scythe) got a penitrating hit and it exploded 5 inches. I got very unlucky and a lot of my warriors died as well as my lord. so before WBB i had 3 warriors. I saved 3 of them bringing me to 6 warriors and a lord, which was under phase out. Later reference to thhe rules made me believe that would of won, because I phased out and that gives him auto-win, yet i killed all of his marines.
Who would of won?
Last edited by TheOutsider; January 4th, 2009 at 00:30. Reason: GRAMMAR!!!
Sounds like a pretty cool ending to a game! I guess in terms of who won I would have to agree with Diggums Hammer and say it was a draw...although thats not very exciting
Mechanics-wise, it's pretty much a draw, unless you count the fact that the game ended on your turn when your units killed his last unit, in which case you'd win. Just a matter of house rules, literally.
Of course I can't help but think of it from a lore/fluff-wise perspective, in which the Marines would've "won" as they still ended up defeating the Necrons, at the cost of their own lives. The Necron don't view things the same way, and thus, ended up with an inconvenient setback.
But that's just me being a lorebuff.
I'd try to claim that as a victory for yourself. After all, you killed all his stuff first. Even below the phase out, the game should have ended the moment you destroyed the last unit of the enemy. WBB rolls are made at the start of your turn, but there can't be another turn if there's nothing left at all to fight.
In the end though, it's all about the fun of it all.
Seeing as it was my turn when the game ended, should I be allowed to make WBB anyway? Not that it matters but seeing as I just finished my turn and WBB is at the START of my turn...
And if the game ends before WBB is made, do you get to make it...?
Agh, so many questions.
And i REALLY dont want to count it as a draw because such a awesom game should end better than that.
But oh well. That puts me at (W/D/L) 2/1/1 with him.
oh, and seeing as i'm being neglected on other threads, i'm doing a doubles tourny with my dad and I would like opinions on army lists that work with eachother. Thanks
Last edited by TheOutsider; January 4th, 2009 at 01:56. Reason: Had a question.
I'm going draw too, he had nothing left = lose, but at the same time you phased out = lose.
But really yeah, you both won, because that sounds like a really good game. I'd call it a draw and think of it as you both won.
If his tank was his last peice surviving...
His army being wiped out was what caused your army being wiped out, therefore if you hadnt wiped him out, you wouldnt have died. Using this knowledge you would have won.
Even if your still not sure you could have gone to VPs in which case you win by 6 warriors (108pts).
But I wouldnt count those 6 warriors becaused I phased out. So therefore I have 0 of anything.
Me "You can't willingly run off the map"
-chaos berserker leaves map-
Friend "What now!"
Me "So, umm... is the game over?"
Don't you phase out at the beginning of your next turn after you roll WBB roles? Don't have my codex handy so I can't check this, but that's what I thought. So this way, you definitely won.