Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi guys, just a quick question regarding 5th ed and the codex.
Can i attach a phoenix lord to a non-aspect warrior squadron?
Rules state that i may not attach EG baharroth to fire dragons, but could i attack say asurmen to guardians?
further to that, and assuming yes. would exarch power which are passed to the squad such as bladestorm/tank hunters able to be passed on to such a unit.
Could you in theory, attach asurmen to 20 guardians, and have them bladestorm 60 shots, even 60 shots + 4 shuriken cannon shots?
I'm pretty sure it wouldn't work that way, sadly.
They can go with units that are not aspect warriors so warlocks wraithguard ranger guardians and harlies. The codex does not say if the powers transfer over I recall seeing it somewhere ( possibly a faq ) that they do not unless they are with their aspect. And Jain Zar does not give furious charge to banshees.
eldar codex, page 54
"Disciples: Phoenix Lords typically lead their brethren into battle. If the Phoenix Lord is leading a squad of their Aspect, then the whole squad becomes Fearless. Phoenix Lords cannot join Aspect Warrior squads that are not of their Aspect. Note that if a squad has two of the same Exarch power, they are not cumulative."
ok, this would infer that a PL can join any squad that is not aspect related. this is further backed up by them being independant characters.
and, actually, i believe that jain zar DOES INFACT bestow furious charge upon her banshees. if you look in the rule book, on page 74 it reads:
"The special rules marked with an asterisk (*) are automatically lost by an independant character joining a unit that does not have the same special rule. These rules are also lost by a unit that is joined by an independent character that does not have the same special rule."
and if you look on page 75, Furious Charge DOES NOT have an * !!!!!
all quotes taken from sources quoted. all text was quoted precisely as written. no plagerism was intentional.
War is my master; Death my mistress.
Sorry guys but guardians will never be able to bladestorm... page 21: exarch powers... However, if you added asureman and maugan ra in the same squad, you could use bladestorm and fastshot to make his maugetar assault 6!
Personally I think this is a good restriction because then some stupid good combos could be made. Guardiand would be able to bladestorm... Storm guardians could infiltrate... and if you used jain zar they would always count as charging... Those are way too good for guardians.
Last edited by Dekendo; January 5th, 2009 at 06:37.
Never apologise for asking questions young seers, through asking
questions we find answers, and through those answers we gain
knowledge of ourselves and the universe around us
Meet My Autarch
more importanly i was thinking either karandras or asurmen into a seer council to either infiltrate/outflank (definatley passes onto unit) or use the defend power.
then again...i suppose you could put baharroth into any unit and use skyleap as a means to get out of a bad situation...