Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
When do you guys generally declare that you will be bladestorming? I do it before I measure then when I end up short, I'm out shots the next round too. Is that the generally accepted way or am I just handicapping myself?
My gaming group accepts that bladestorm can be called after measuring but before shooting. I don't know any official ruling but 12-18" is pretty easy to gauge even if that isn't acceptable.
Never apologise for asking questions young seers, through asking
questions we find answers, and through those answers we gain
knowledge of ourselves and the universe around us
Meet My Autarch
Yes, that is how I believe it should be played. Similarly, if someone measures a range with a plasma gun and comes up short, they still have to roll for it.When do you guys generally declare that you will be bladestorming? I do it before I measure then when I end up short, I'm out shots the next round too. Is that the generally accepted way or am I just handicapping myself?
The problem also arises in WHFB when a skaven player does it the wrong way round with his ratling gun, measuring before shooting. When this happens, I generally say he has to roll a D6 for the number of dice he would have rolled then roll them, they soon learn to shoot then measure after a few 6s!
http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!
I agree with the initial post, the same thing happens when you are attempting a spell and are out of range, you can still get a perils of the warp test.
I'm pretty sure in all cases you declare, then measure and check line of sight. Thats just the way the game works.
That always seemed to me to be the best and most fair way. Thanks for the replies.
I normally measure then declare Bladestorm. It's probably intended to be declared then measured though.
Also if you're really not that sure then just shoot them regularly, if they are out of range you can get em next turn.
Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat
I believe that you must declare and then measure as well.
As ForceCommanderPaddy has said, if you aren't sure then just do a regular shot. They probably arent in charge range at that point anyhow, so you'll likely get Bladestorm next turn.
Myself, I use tooled up exarchs with PW/SSh, Bladestorm, and Defend. So usually I'm calling Bladestorm at 4-6" then charging into CC. That way I get between 30 and 50+ attacks. Even terminator units feel the pain from a well timed attack.
Arvan'drynn Craftworld - 15,000pts (deceased)
Tau - 2,000 points (atomized while on patrol)