Welcome to Librarium Online!
Does eldarich storm scatter? lol that's all i need to know
yes, i beleive eldritch storm does scatter.
Since the entry for the spell mentions placing the large blast template, it would seem that it is resolved the same way most other large blasts are, with the Scatter dice and 2d6. Still unless the dice roll is very high it should hit most times due to the good BS of the Farseer.
but therein we have another dilemma. Since in the codex it doesnt say you have to roll to hit, it says to just flat out place the blast template, do you really have to scatter it? or would it stay in place due to the fact that it isn't "shot"?
Eldar W/D/L: 17/15/12
Ordo Malleus W/D/L: 24/3/4
Crimson Fists: In Progress
I don't know if it means much to you guys, but when I played an introductory game at a games workshop the guy who worked there had me roll scatter when I stormed his CSM.
So I mean I guess its just rules as meant to be played vs rules exactly as written...
You also have to remember the red shirts don't know jack... I wouldn't count on them to give you a definitive answer.
I do agree that intuitively, the power should scatter, but the rule for blasts specifically states "blast weapons" and says nothing about powers. On the other hand the farseer is using his power "instead of firing a weapon" so the argument could go both ways.
RAW it doesn't scatter but just as a courtesy you might want to scatter it anyway just to avoid any arguments. If you are really worried, just guide yourself.
Never apologise for asking questions young seers, through asking
questions we find answers, and through those answers we gain
knowledge of ourselves and the universe around us
Meet My Autarch
In my opinion, it would seem that it negates the rules for scattering becuase it doesnt say that it fallows the rules for templates. Point being, that if a blast template was not centered over a vehicle, that it only got 1/2 str, in the case of the storm, it gets full str.
then agian, i could always be wrong.
I try and look at this from the opponents point of view. I would be irritated if an opponent tried to slip this by me. So as a courtesy, you might want to scatter it just for sportsmanship. HOWEVER, if your in a tournament setting ask the moderator prior to starting the first round.
Common sense points me to think most opponents will expect it to scatter, so scatter it.
Veni Vidi Vici
"The plan is to win, if we don't win its cause you guys didn't follow the plan!"
Eldar: 25,000 pts
Another point that could help steer in one way is looking at the Hawks Grenade pack when deep striking. It explicitly says that when you deep strike place the large blast template, then roll a scatter die and D6. It isn't a shooting attack per se, since it's independant of the shooting phase and has its own rules for scatter etc.
The same can be said for Eldritch Storm since it doesn't mention scatter at all until it involves vehichles.
I don't know, argh my brain is melting!Perils of the Warp! *takes a wound*