Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It suddenly occurs to me that I may have been playing a rule that I assumed is in the rule book, but cannot actually ever remember reading.
If I take a Falcon can I deploy it with a unit (e.g. 6 Fire Dragons) already embarked?
Normally I have not done this as I am assuming that you can only deploy units embarked in dedicated transports, and whilst it says that you cannot put in a different unit embarked in a dedicated transport, it says nothing about non dedicated transports.
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'll be very happy if I've been playing it wrong as I will now have some additional tactical flexibility that I haven't used before.
I could find nothing for this concerning normal deployments but if you look in the reserves section on pg 94 of the BRB it shows that you put units into the transport and role for them together. This would lead me to believe that it is possible for a unit to start in the falcon. I always played that transports can start with a unit in them but like you could not find an exact note on it for normal deployments. Hope this helps you out.
In 4th ed I always played that units start disembarked unless the transport is dedicated to them, but with 5th edition I concurr on the fact that you can start them off already on the Falcon.
- Just love that maki! -
Thanks guys - rep for both.
I raised this question recently on the rules forum, and came to the same conclusion. In addition to the page Nakaruru cited, the dedicated transport rules state that the only limitation on a regular transport (as opposed to non-dedicated transports presumably) is that they can only start with the squad they were purchased for embarked. To me that seems to imply a non-dedicated transport could start with any squad embarked, and with the reserves rule mentioned earlier that seems to be the case even though the BRB doesn't explicitly allow or disallow it.