Best unit to hold an objective ? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Best unit to hold an objective ?

I'm new to Eldar, and currently making my Eldar list, so have only played 2 small value games with them so far. I feel I need a single relatively cheap Troops unit to hold an objective. The rest of the army is mechbiker, this unit's role is to sit on an objective at the start of the game, and stay there. Given this role, I'd value their survival more than any firepower they'd kick out.

I can see the theoretical advantages and disadvantages from the Codex, but could use some actual experience from people who've tried these. The three units I can see are (for approx the same points) :
    1. 12 Guardians with Scatter Laser
    2. 8 Direavengers with Exarch
    3. 5 Pathfinders.

What would you take ?

Plan B is not automatically twice as much explosive as plan A

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x4)

If your looking for something to just sit in the back go with guardians with a decent weapon to help the forward part of the army. If you believe you will get objectives in cover most games go with the pathfinders. (they would have the added advantage of being to inflitrate onto objectives )

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    81 (x3)