Welcome to Librarium Online!
If we get lit up by marker lights, do we get a cover save?
"Hard pounding, gentlemen: but we shall see who can pound the longest."
Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington
No, you don't get cover saves just like you don't get armor saves.
Markerlight hits only last one turn and can only effect the same squad if it is a "net-worked" markerlight.
Hope that helps.
I played a game against Tau today and we had the exact same question. Since this question came back often during our games we decided to check it out to have a final verdict on the subject.
The rules for the markerlight specifically only say that since it doesn't count as a wounding weapon you have no armor save against it. It wasn't really clear about cover saves...
So we checked in the rule book, p.21, for the cover save rules and it says that "units in cover will normally get a saving throw regardless of what's firing at them"... so even if it's a high strenght, high AP value or a with no strenght at all the cover save applies.
Now for the logic behind the fact that you are allowed a cover save against a marker light we can easily say that if a unit is hidden behind some trees or some sort of fortification they are a lot harder to spot, therefore the cover save apply even against marker light.
So to answer your question: yes you get a cover save against a markerlight.
Edit: If I'm wrong please correct me with some facts or a FAQ please . That way I will be able to prove my opponent that my point is valid.
Last edited by Thyr; February 1st, 2009 at 03:14.
A wound is never allocated to any models hit by a markerlight, (they have no STR or AP value) therefore no armor, cover, or invul saves may be taken.
Fluffwise, I can see your point.. RAW wise, it is not supported.
Last edited by camarodragon; February 1st, 2009 at 04:16.
NECRON Army List Builder a Free excel capable list generator for 5th and 6th ed. 11/2011
Necrons - 6000 points, Tau - 6000, Daemons - 5250, Eldar - 4500, Blood Angels - 5000
Some pics form my hobby. http://s145.photobucket.com/albums/r...arodragon/40k/
Tyr on page 20 of the rule book under the "take saving throw" heading it states "before a model is removed as a casualty" a marker light causes no wound there fore no saving throw.
BTW it states (on page 21) cover saves are not affected by the Armour Piercing value of a weapon.
And fluff wise, I think a missed marker light shot would be because there is no enemy available (ie behind cover). And a hit would be on an enemy caught in the open.
I also believe that the increased BS not only helps make a difficult easier but could allow Tau units to concentrate their fire and blast through a piece of cover. Think that all those missed shots just chipped away at that piece of cover and the hits blasted through.
Last edited by NytBlade; February 1st, 2009 at 06:40.
ya no cover can be used but if you wanted to go by fluff there would be no cover because the emeny would no know he was being fired at untill its to later(seeing it makes no noise and has no impact and in the heat of battle who is going to look for a little green dot)
Ok I see your point.
So its no cover save for a marker light. I know someone who will be happy to hear that...
It boggles my mind that this question keeps popping up... where is the confusion coming from?
Then again, I guess everyone who plays against Tau hates markerlights and so they are always looking for any way imaginable for nullifying them.
Last edited by ZenGamer; February 3rd, 2009 at 13:55.
-Thread Killer Bryan
Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept