Welcome to Librarium Online!
I'm starting out with Tau and trying to come up with original ideas for countering my cousin's Space Marine chapter. Some include the Sniper team.
NOTE: I am aware that a sniper team may not be the most effective use of a Heavy Support slot. Please no comments on the merits of it.
1. Could a sniper team (considering that they are an infantry models not within XV armor) embark a devilfish to gain mobility?
2. Is the sniper team's spotter's drone controller dedicated to controlling the sniper drones?
Seems fairly obvious that it is for the Sniper drones, however when you look up a drone controller it states "A model with a drone controller must take one or two Gun, Marker, or Shield drones, in any combination from the Wargear list".
3. Is the sniper team considered 1 spotter as an independent character with 3 drones; or a spotter with a sniper drone "squadron"; or none of the above.If it turns out to be a IC, then couldn't that IC join another unit?
4. Is there any rule stating that the devilfish can only contain 1 unit? Or, could I embark 2 units of 6 qualifying models. I.E. 2 units of 6 Vespid/Firewarrior/etc.
p66 - A transport may carry a single infantry unit and/or any
number of independent characters (as long as they
count as infantry), up to a total of models equal to the
vehicle’s transport capacity
Single unit + ICs
1. Says infantry so I would say YES. However it does not have a devilfish option as dedicated transport, so you could not deploy them already in the devilfish. You will lose two rounds of use (one for embarking and one for disembarking) with the Devilfish as the weapons on the drones are heavies.
2. It is limited. It says the unit has one spotter and three sniper drones. If it had options for other drones, it would give you the point cost for each type or reference the warger for options.
3. Spotter is not an IC. He would have the Independent Character listed under special rules... see the HQ choices as examples.
4. See above for "single unit". Also with your Vespid in the example, jump infantry cannot embark on transports.
p68 - Only infantry models may embark in transports (it is
worth specifying that this does not include jump
infantry), unless a Codex book states otherwise.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
http://www.gamesandhobbies.com/ New Location Open on the north end!