Welcome to Librarium Online!
Sorry guys, I've been out of shape. I heard that Necrons got the shaft in 5th Edition... that's what I heard but anyone have examples/reasons? More importantly anyone got page numbers in 5th Edition rulebook to let me know?
most of the grief has been caused by the new Vehicle Damage Table. It is now much more difficult to destroy vehicles with only glancing hits so Gauss weapons and Venom cannons have become much weaker.
I think the new cover rules also hurt Nercons a bit. I may be incorrect, but the res. orb phalanx formation seems to be hurt because shooting through allied units now provides a cover save to your opponent.
I don't have my Rulebook with me so I can't give you page numbers, but I think those are two reasons people got upset.
Necrons are still seemingly playable in 5e to me though.
The real big problem is the new sweeping advance rules. Its much easier to both fail morale and then get sweeped. This is what really makes crons so much weaker... combat will almost always result in losing the entire unit
I now find that my lord is relied upon heavily to take out vehicles, his 2d6 + strength 5 due to warscythe make him a must have for me these days. But like i said, its an unreliable tactic, as if the enemy notices him as the only thing that stands half a chance of taking out his tanks, the lord will be at the top of the TO DIE list.
Just as an F.Y.I. I know you asked for page numbers, the Morale test after a lost combat rules are on p. 44 and the big hit to Necron survivability is under C. Against a unit that can hit hard in CC that is what will be killing lots of your crons.
New vehicle damage table and details about hitting/penetrating/glancing vehicles are on p. 61. I would also agree that this is one of the biggest hits to Necrons survivability and effectiveness against vehicle heavy lists.
As i understand it the Necron Codex came out at the end of 3rd ed, and it was somewhat set up for 4th ed rules.
But how does sweeping advance and WWB rolls work for necrons?
Thanks for the help
Necron WBB is on p. 13 of the codex. I unfortounately don't have my main book to give you a number for that one, so if noone else has before I get back to it I will edit this for the page number for sweeping advance. Regardless of forum rules both are a little complicated to post, so it's best for you to look them up yourself.
Right after i posted my question i found this thread, but based off that and the way my group plays, is that yes i get a wbb roll, as long as the entire squad isn't toting power wpns
According to the rules for Sweeping Advance, you don't get to WBB. SA rules state clearly that no special rule can save the losers from being removed.