Welcome to Librarium Online!
I'm new to Tyranids and building my first army, so I have a question that is probably obvious, but...
Do Genestealers have to equip biomorphs identically within the one brood? Logic would say they do, but unlike the gaunt and ripper entries, the list does not say that they do
It would be nice to think that I could mix flesh hooks and feeder tendrils in the one brood - and lets face it, if I'm buying a box of genestealers, and I want to make a brood with feeder tendrils - then eight genestealers with just one head just doesn't go!
Anyone want to shed some light on the issue?
I'm a bit new to tyranids myself but I don't think you can mix and match biomorph's. If you take feeder tendrils the whole brood has feeder tendrils.
It would be great if you could though
I believe its mix-&-matchable. However, you buy for each genie. So if you have a 12-genie unit, you have to buy 12 feeder tendrils if you want them all to benefit.
This was discussed some time ago. While I'm not sure whether the thread ever came to a real conclusion I believe the general consensus was that you do have to equip genestealers within a brood the same, despite it not being in the codex. Hope that helps. If you want a good discussion look around for the thread, I'm sure it's still somewhere in the pages.
---------- Post added at 19:51 ---------- Previous post was at 19:49 ----------
I don't know about you guys, but my codex says 'the whole brood may be equipped....'. Short of some sort of extreme rules lawyerin' I find that to be pretty clear
As for the heads, just make sure that that biomorph combo is represented in the unit and make sure that your opponent knows what is what.
I have 30 or so vanilla GS's and 8 or so of each of the biomorph combos that I run. I make half vanilla stealers and the other half the wysiwyg ones. No one has ever had a problem with it.
Same thing goes for rending claws for warriors. You would think the damn things are made of gold and diamonds the way they ration them!
Last edited by Annoch; February 11th, 2009 at 01:04. Reason: Added more wisdom!
Hive Flee Annoch
Once the game is over, the king and the pawn go back in the same box. -Italian Proverb
Most people will save their one Feeder Tendril head for a Broodlord so he can give the entire brood the advantage
Actually, Tyranid Warriors can have different weapons (but not biomorphs), so having RC on some and ST on others and trying to treat them all as one or the other could potentially cause problems.
As for FT genestealers, since the whole brood must be equipped identically, I don't think anyone would care if you only showed it with one Cthulhu head.
As for scuttling, it's a movement thing, so you don't have to model it--same with leaping on warriors.
"Tell me what you cherish most. Give me the pleasure of taking it away." Sephiroth, Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children
I think that answers my question to satisfaction - I did think it was obvious, but just wanted to get a feel for the general consensus out there
Use only one biomorph head for the entire brood - no mixing, and just use whatever heads you have handy on one or two as representation for the entire brood
Sounds fair - and yeah, on another note - what's with the one pair of rending claws for warriors? grr... I borrowed some of the three fingered arms from the genestealer box, as I did for my raveners, but they just don't have the same menace of size as the bigger warrior rending claws....
Anyways, I digress! Thanks again, and I'm looking forward to fielding my army, twas my birthday recently and my friend co-ordinated everyone's buying of presents for me, so I went from thinking 'I'd like a Tyranid army' to 'holy ***, I've got 1600 points already!' in about 10 minutes!