Welcome to Librarium Online!
Alright, so I'm hoping to run som armies with Deffrollas and start Tank-shokking Units asap...it really sounds like a lot of fun!! But before I get started, I wanted to make sure I undestand how to do it.
Okay, so according to the book, you're basically just rotating your Tank (in our case, Battlewagon, Trukk or other vehicle) and Moving it a proclaimed number of Inches. You're not specifically targetting any unit/squad, but since you're announcing the "Tank Shock" ability, you're going to potentially scare anything in your path. So let me make sure I have this correct.
1. The book doesn't state a maximum distance, just the minimum of combat speed, which is 6" I believe. So if we have a Battlewagon, I'm assuming the Maximum it can move is 12" (or 13" with a RPJ), and Trukks (or other Fast Vehicles) can move up to 18"-19" and Tank Shock right?
2. If you have a Deffrolla on your BW, does the unit you Tank Shokk still take 1d6 Str 10 Hits, even if they pass their leadership? I'm assuming that they take those hits no matter what, as long as they're in the path of the BW and it reaches that unit.
3. If a unit passes it's Leadership Test, but then takes more than 25% percent casualties because of a Deffrolla...does it need to take another Leadership test?
4. Does Instant Death deny Armor Saves?
i.e. if a Deffrolla, or any other weapon has high enough Str to causes insta-death, does the model who suffered the hit still get an armor save? I thought I read or heard somewhere that Insta-death prevents Armor saves (except Invuln), but perhaps I was just wishing it did so I can squish more people with my Deffrollas.
5. Cover Saves vs. Blast templates.
I'm pretty certain that if there is hindering terrain between you and a unit firing a blast template, you take a cover save as normal,(unless the weapon states otherwise)!! For some reason, one of my friends tells me that you can only get a cover save if you're partially inside cover (ie. in a forest), and having cover in the Firer's LOS isn't enough.
X OOO YY
X= unit Firing Blast template weapon
YY= Targeted Unit.
Y should always get a cover save from X, unless for some reason the Cover save is denied because of some special rule.
6. Saves vs Flame Templates,
I know some flamers count as Power weapons, but I'm not sure if that's ALL Flame template weapons...or just certain ones? I think they all are counted as Power weapons, but I can't seem to find the rules to clarify this.
As far as saves are concerned, in most cases you wouldn't get any armor saves or cover saves, only Invuln saves, Correct?
7. Overall, I'm curious about what weapons deny Cover, Armor and Invuln Saves. As far as I know...
1. Cover is denied by Flamers, CC.
2. Armor is denied by equal or Lower AP and Power Weapons (which are most special CC weapons?)
3. Invuln is denied by....nothing?
A "Modicum" of Speed
8. Finally, I was curious about what exactly is a "modicum" of speed. Under the Wartrakk entry in the Ork Codex it says "..the driver sacrificies a modicum of speed". Does this have any effect on the WarTrakk's speed?
2. I think so.
3. No, I don't think it counts as shooting, but i could be wrong.
5. You are right, impared LOS = cover save
6. You would get armour saves unless the ap beats your armor or if the flamer's rules state that there are no armour saves agaist it. ex= demon flamers of tzeench.
7. Invul can be denied by some things, which state "denies invulnerable saves" in thier codex. Ex=nightbringer
8. No. the wartrakk moves at the same rate as the buggy.
--Famous last words of Asmodean
1) Yes, you can only tank shock as far as you can move normally.
2) Yes, 2D6 is they try Death or Glory
3) Yes, the tank shock test immediately, and the 25% test at the end of that phase
4) No, unless it has sufficient AP or is a power weapon in combat or some other special rule I didn't think of
5) Against direct fire blast templates, any obscurement between firer and target confers a cover save per the normal rules (50% must be covered, etc). Barrage weapons like mortars, Whirlwinds, and Lobbas work differently and cover is measured from the central hole of the blast when it lands. If you're in area terrain you'll get cover as normal.
6) Template weapons ignore cover, nothing else.
7) Correct, except some weapons can deny cover (Hellfire rounds, Incendiary missiles) and others can negate invulnerables (psycannons, warscythes)
8 ) That's a fluff blurb, no bearing on rules.
a modicum is a very tiny amount... haha. harvey birdman ref.
Beer, Pipes, and Guns... Dwarves had the right idea.
I've recently become a fan of this thing called Dubstep. And you should too.
Datsik & Flux Pavillion - Crunch (Youtube)
Da Moo Kowz is da drinkinest Orks of dem all!
1. Vehicles which are not tanks cannot tank shock - so a trukk cannot tank shock unless it has a reinforced ram.
Two quick messages:
To OP: ==Me== is right on all counts
To ==Me==: Did you get that thing I sent you?
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
That you, Birdman?