Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hi just have a question to ask do tombspiders have the ability to give necrons around them there wbb like a res orb ive been tolkd this is the case but i cant find it in the codex its probably there but i cant see it
Without my codex in front of me, I'd have to say it does not work like the Res Orb. in the case of necrons being destroyed with power weapons. But if you don't have a necron lord near downed troops that didn't get a wwb roll b/c there are no troops standing, they will get a wwb roll b/c of the tomb spider.
Tomb Spyders do not work in the same manner as res orbs. They fulfil the roll of "like necron unit" for the purpose of having another unit within 6", however they provide a 12" radius of the effect. Check over the codex carefully, it's a bit complicated.
Res orb is the only way to allow WBB after power weapons or double toughness attacks.
Spyders allow you to place units on far sides of the field and not risk losing them permanently if the squad is wiped by normal means. (Sweeping advance is up to argument.)
For my own understanding, did i explain the role of the tomb spyder accurately?
From past experiences sweeping advance does not allow for a wbb roll. This was only determined by the rolling of d6 to see who had the higher roll, b/c we couldn't agree on it.
WBB rolls require like models not a lord. In order for a Necron warrior to get a WBB roll after say getting shot with a weapon and failing his save there must be either A) another warrior withing 6" of him, or A Tomb Spyder withing 12" and another Necron warrior model on the table somewhere. I hope that answers your question Obahai.
Yes Sweeping Advance is kind of debated because the age of the Necron codex makes it a little unclear so it's pretty much become one of the things that requires a house rule for it.