Help with some rules - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    27
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Help with some rules

    I was wondering if since Scything Talons add an extra attack does that extra attack count for shots being fired from a weapon? For example, a Hive Tyrant has 3 attacks but since I give him scything talons it goes up to 4 attacks. If I give him a Venom Canon as well will he be able to fire 4 times or is he stuck with 3?

    Also, when a unit of gaunts or some other tyranid that is out of range of a synapse creature fails their morale test and falls back will they be able to try and regroup in the following movement phase or are they screwed till they get to a synapse creature?

    Thanks


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota (USA)
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    75 (x3)

    Question 1 is answered on page 30. You count number of shots before other modifiers.

    Quesion 2 is tougher. I think that you need to test to regroup if you are over 50% per normal rules. If you pass that you will have to test for instinctive behavior if you would like to move, otherwise you may lurk. If you fail your test or are under 50% you will continue to fall back towards synapse.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot magnet_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    126 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by HedBanger View Post
    I was wondering if since Scything Talons add an extra attack does that extra attack count for shots being fired from a weapon? For example, a Hive Tyrant has 3 attacks but since I give him scything talons it goes up to 4 attacks. If I give him a Venom Canon as well will he be able to fire 4 times or is he stuck with 3?

    Also, when a unit of gaunts or some other tyranid that is out of range of a synapse creature fails their morale test and falls back will they be able to try and regroup in the following movement phase or are they screwed till they get to a synapse creature?

    Thanks
    Q2: As per the IB rules on pg 28, the fall back move is just like if they failed a morale test. So all the normal rules for falling back apply with the exception of the direction (eg. towards synapse). So if they are above half strength, then yes they can attempt to regroup before reaching synapse.
    Tim Wright

    "The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
    -John Gilmore

  5. #4
    BANANA! Hive Fleet Ruina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    183 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by HedBanger View Post
    I was wondering if since Scything Talons add an extra attack does that extra attack count for shots being fired from a weapon? For example, a Hive Tyrant has 3 attacks but since I give him scything talons it goes up to 4 attacks. If I give him a Venom Canon as well will he be able to fire 4 times or is he stuck with 3?

    Page 31 in the Tyranid codex, Scything Talons, 2nd paragraph, 5th line, "...and the number of attacks from ranged weapon-sympiotes is not increased."

    Also, when a unit of gaunts or some other tyranid that is out of range of a synapse creature fails their morale test and falls back will they be able to try and regroup in the following movement phase or are they screwed till they get to a synapse creature?

    page 28 in the Tyranid codex, Instinctive behaviour, 1st dot point, "If you want to move....must take a leadership test at the start of it's movement phase. If this is failed, the brood will fall back as it had failed a Morale test. If it is passed, the brood may act as normal."

    Thanks
    I hope that helps.
    Quote of the Week (Number 3) - "It is impossible to defeat an ignorant man in argument." - William Gibbs McAdoo (1863-1941)
    Ruina's Hive - My personal Blog

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts