Welcome to Librarium Online!
I have been gone from Warhammer for a long time now, and am just getting back into it, i am wondering if necrons are still capable of being a competive tournament army, also is the deciever and nightbringer still worth it? do they still pwn face or should i not even bother? if you had to choose, what god would you take and why? (from a perspective of lets say, 2000 pts) Thanks!
Last edited by Diango; February 15th, 2009 at 01:26.
Yes, they're still competative, you just have to change the tactics a bit from the 4th edition ones, we don't take tanks out as fast, and we suck even more at CC.
BUT, in 5th edition, the monolith is even more a beast than it was in 4th, being 14's all around, unaugmented STR and no additional dice to armor penitration rolls makes it very hard to put down.
In a 2000 point game, a c'tan is almost a must.
Most of the time I'll take the nightbringer due to the damage he can dish out.
But if I'm fighting Tau or a more Shooty eldar army, I'll use the deciever.
Yes, I did deep-strike your sister...
Necrons : W-8 D-3 L-7 (Sleeping in their TombFoam, waiting for a new codex)
Chaos Forces (CSM/CD): W-42 D-19 L-28
Apocalypse Games : W-4 D-0 L-1 (4 Titans, Brass Scorp, 3 Baneblades, 2 Bombers, 3 Fighters, and a Partrage in a Pear Tree)
id take the deciver more often then the night bringer i mean hes 60 pts less and he can misdrict out of combat which is great if he gets swarmed by a ton of hormagaunts or if theres a instant kill weapon out there.also he has 5 ini instead of 4.
I kill you i win. You kill me you lose
---------- Post added at 13:58 ---------- Previous post was at 13:56 ----------
You could play Swarms with a lord:
Lord with Destroyer Body, Warscythe, Lightning Field: 175 points
10x Scarab Swarms with Disruption Fields: 160 points
Depending on what you prefer, consider cutting the Lightning Field and/or the Disruption Fields.
Also Sturm, are hormagaunts str 4 or more? If they are, then yes Deceiver is still probably the best choice (and oww I didn't realise hormagaunts were quite that nasty). If they are str 3 as I was thinking they might be, then the Nightbringer might be more useful as he has that whole "Ethereal Tempest" ability that can push away any unit that is str 3 or less. The Nightbringer's also got one of the two blast template attacks in the entire Necron army, very handy for killing relatively weak swarms en mass that you don't want getting stuck into your warriors. Still, The Deceiver is usually the better choice.
Last edited by Malagate; February 19th, 2009 at 15:23. Reason: The edit is a lie
Hormagaunts are BASE S3 it can be upgraded to S4. Etheric tempest doesn't work on genestealers which are far more dangerous, however.
The Gaze of Death is a nifty attack, sadly I've never used the NB so I can't say how well it works.
Also Diango, as far as competitive goes. Necrons seem to have bit more of a learning curve than before. From what I've heard they're not something we'll be seeing in the top rank tournament brackets. However a large chunk of 40K is how good the player behind a list is. I could make a great Chaos list (theoretically) but someone with a mediocre Tau list who knows how to USE them would likely beat my pants off.
Certain armies can be hard to get a hang of, Necrons are to a certain extent. Mostly you just gotta remember to keep units together to cross support.
turbocharge assault is a lie, check up in the rulebook.
Yeah, no Turbo and Assault. However, if they turbo the Scarabs have a 2+ cover save, the normal 3+ save for turbo-boosting and a bonus of 1 because they are very small. So you can turbo close to your target, outside of their assault range but inside yours, and even if they shoot at you most of the shots should do nothing. And they still have 3 wounds in case something DOES hit. :3
Quick technical question....if i charge my opponent that his equal or higher initive than my NB and activate gaze of death before i do anything or he does anything, will the gaze of death ability/attack go first?
---------- Post added at 20:18 ---------- Previous post was at 20:15 ----------
The Gaze works at initiative. So if the enemy has a higher initiative they go first. If the NB has initiative It goes first instead and can potentially kill the entire squad before they are allowed to strike back. So in your situation no, they get to strike first.