Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
As a Tau player, I am a visitor to your side of the forums. However, a good friend of mine plays Eldar quite often and we ran into a question we couldn't answer last night. Basically:
He had a Falcon with Star Engines. He tank shocked my Fire Warriors in his movement phase. I got lucky and passed. Then, he used his Star Engines to tank shock again in his shooting phase. The obvious question is, "Is that legal?" Also, what other limitations do Star Engines entail that I, as an opponent, should know about?
Gracias in advance.
well it is actually legal in my opinion however he can't shoot any more, and nothing can embark or disembark when he uses the star engines. the star engines are used IN the shooting phase so he can just tank shock twice.
It isn't as clear cut as forumjayz says but the rules could be read to allow two tank shocks. Some will say that since it is now the shooting phase you can no longer tank shock (as that is done in the movement phase ). This may be a good thing to send over to the rules forum and let people hash it out there.
well I haven't found it anywhere that tankshock is soly possible in the movement phase. But I could be mistake it's one of those tricky things I guess.
Tank Shock is done whenever vehicle movement is done. If they could move in Assault phase, then they'd tank shock during Assault Phase. Note the difference between shooting at any point of movement as it was in the 4rth edition with Crystal Targeting Matrix.
I'm at work so can't look exactly, I recall people that said you can not tank shock/ram with star engines saying that it was only possible to do so in the movement phase( I recall alot of debates and questions concerning star engines once it was faq saying it was in the shooting phase ). I am personally all for it but other people felt that the rules said no. Perhaps when I get home I will spend a few minutes trying to find the rules and arguements people used against it being possible.
The general consensus is that you cannot tank shock or ram with star engines because they are used during the shooting phase. Check out the INAT FAQ that's going into use with a lot of independant tournaments. By the RAW, that's the way it works. Of course, that's not a GW official ruling, just one that's seeing broader use. If you've not much interest in tournies, then feel free to ignore it
Wargamer Haven, my little cyberspace blogspot.
First, the answer to this is debatable. It comes down to the reader's definition of the word 'normal,' as written in the BRB.
Second, that INAT document has some pretty bad stuff in it for Eldar, since that's all I looked at, specifically, almost all the answers go against GW's actual FAQ answers, so I think it's more a good guide for questions to ask, rather than the answers for them.
I don't understand... you can't Tank Shock cause it's not in movement phase? It's occuring during movement, and it doesn't take phase in moevement phase and it is not connected with phase by a single rulebook line...
I am sorry because of my words, but I feel free to say idiotism...
My country is known for many absurdal national FAQ's but apart from that, they rules that are quite clear (as it is, there is no place for interperation) are just simple and do not need extra interpretation of non-interpretable material.
Now I am Shocked. I would never think that such thing would appear in INAT. Time to read this stuff...
I'm back after doing a bit of looking around and found the general argument against star engines. As banik says it is about normal movement. Tank shock says it replaces normal movement, star engines are extra movement that is not even done in the movement phase, as such it is clearly not normal movement so you can not replace the star engines movement with a tank shock. There may be more out there but that is the argument I saw the most and had the best chance of holding water so to speak.
So this is something to talk about with people you play with, and check with the tournament when you enter them.