Welcome to Librarium Online!
OK we all know that Kroot do not have to take difficult terrain tests in jungle or wooded cover. In the 4th edition rules this was very straight forward, if you were in, moved into or out of difficult terrain you took the test.
However I have noticed something in the new rules 'any unit wanting to assault a unit in cover takes a difficult terrain test and assaults at initiative 1'.
However Kroot do not take difficult terrain tests for wooded or jungle terrain, so it would seem that a unit of Kroot assaulting another unit in difficult terrain would not take the test and thus would not be assaulting at INT1 because the INT1 is reliant on the DT test.
Seems straight forward but I noticed the phrasing in the Kroot rules, it says "Kroot IN wooded or jungles". So does this mean that the test is only taken when the unit starts in wooded or jungle cover or does it simply mean that the Kroot do not take the test whenever they end up, start or are in cover (I/E they are in the terrain at some point in the movement phase). now I have never thought much about it before, simply not taking DT tests whenever the Kroot were in/starting in or moving into jungle or wooded terrain.
However the potential benefit of no INT penalty for Kroot attacking a unit in jungle/wooded terrain has prompted me to ask the following questions.
Does the Kroot benefit of no DT test when moving in wooded and jungle terrain apply to all instance of movement, specifically does it apply to units starting in cover, moving out of cover and moving into cover (cover being wooded/jungle terrain) or does it solely apply to units that are in cover when the movement phase starts? Also does the no DT rule apply when a Kroot unit assaults a unit in cover?
Last edited by Rikimaru; March 1st, 2009 at 20:59.
I'm not a Tau player but I'll put in my interpretation.
1) "Any unit wanting to assault a unit in cover takes a difficult terrain test and assaults at initiative 1." I interpret this as two separate effects. First, the unit has to take a difficult terrain test, then, if they make it, they assault at initiative 1. These are completely independent of each other.
2) By "in woods or jungles" I would take it to mean that any time Kroot would normally have to take a difficult terrain test because of woods or jungles then this is ignored. However, I would say that if they move first through woods (or start in woods) and then move through a different kind of difficult terrain then they still have to take the test for the second kind.
In conclusion, Kroot always ignore DT tests prompted by woods or jungle but still attack at initiative 1 when assaulting into cover.
Hope this helps.
I do however agree with your answer to point 2. Your conclusion seems to be erroneous though. As far as I can see the Kroot would attack with their normal initiative if assaulting a unit in wooded/jungle terrain, they would also move the full 6" with no penalty.
Ah. I had misplaced my rulebook and was going off of what you had quoted. I found the passage and, reading it, I agree that Kroot would attack at normal initiative when assaulting units in woods or jungle.
My apologies for the misunderstanding.
yup kroot are regular initiative when assaulting in/through/or out of woods or jungles. The rule states...
"If an assaulting units has to take a difficult terrain...they act at initiative one."
so you're exactly right. I think I've accidentally been playing this way anyway. Almost everything is higher I than Kroot anyway.
The Chaos Daemons I fought against today tried to assault into the woods to get my Kroot that were holding an objective, and we played it that way. It was funny when 10 little Kroot killed a Keeper of Secrets before it even got to attack.
My platform is RL, you'd be surprised at the quality of the graphics!
No DT test applies if the Kroot are in the wooded/jungle terrain, but if they have to *enter* that terrain then the normal rules for DT and Init apply.
Hence Kroot should really only be used in woods/jungle since that is where they are at their most dangerous. Allied with a bunch of Vespid, they can make a serious mess of their enemy.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Dangerous terrain tests are taken if moving in terrain, moving out of terrain and moving into terrain, basically if you start, end up or are in DT in the movement phase you take a DT test. If you take a DT test when assaulting you assault at INT1, Kroot do not take DT tests (ever) if in jungle or wooded terrain, so they do not attack at INT1.