Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had a situation recently where I had my commander and his two pet drones in close combat.
As bad as this was, I then realized the rule of using the WS which is in majority. In this case it was 2 because of the drones.
Am I reading that right? This would mean having drones on my commander is a baaad move. I basically just wanted some extra wounds, but this had the complete opposite effect.
Whenever an independent character is involved in an assault it fights the assault as an independent unit. This means that it can only hit and be hit by models in base to base contact or be hit by models within 2" of a model in B2B with the IC.
The IC uses its own profile at all times when involved in an assault, so it uses its own initiative, weapon skill, strength etc. No wounds inflicted on the commander can be allocated to the Drones or vice versa, so basically any wounds inflicted on the commander must be saved by the commander.
When the assault has been resolved all tests (fall back etc) are resolved using the commanders leadership and initiative values.
But if this is the case, then the shield drone is useless. Since I can't allocate wounds to it as needed, it loses its purpose.