Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I sent in some of the questions I thought were not properly address in our latest FAQ, and I got the following answers. They prove that GW disagrees with me on a few things, but hey, there's always house rules right?
Anyway, I thought you all might find it useful to see some official answers.
These answers come from:
Customer Service Specialist
6711 Baymeadow Drive Suite A
Glen Burnie MD 21060#9 is nice. I guess super gunboats are not dead after all.These are some questions that really need to be added to the next
FAQ, in my opinion.
1. Terrorfex & Horrofex rules state that the unit takes a Leadership
test, with the result of a loss making them pinned. The rules for
Fearless only allows the unit to pass Morale and Pinning tests. It
also says the unit never falls back, but does not say the same about
being pinned. Does this mean the terrorfex & horrofex work on
No, they do not work on fearless units.
2. The rulebook says saving throws are rolled all at once for each
model. If a model with Shadow Field takes all his saves at once, are
they all using the 2+ invulnerable save?
This is a special case. A model with a Shadow Field would have to take his saves one at a time.
3. Do Reaver Jetbike Squads get the +1 S and +1 T, or is that only
for characters? Do they only get the +1 T all bikes afford?
Reaver Jetbike Squads use the statline printed in their entry. Characters only get +1 toughness.
3. Do Hellions get +1 to their Sv because of their skyboards, or is
that already included in their profile?
5. The hellglaive rules say it can be used as a splinter rifle and a
close combat weapon in the same turn. Does this override the changes
to rapid fire weapons that disallow shooting and charging?
4. Do models still have to roll to see if they get hit by Scythes if
the vehicle is stationary?
5. Screaming Jets doesn't allow models to disembark, even though the
rulebook allows models to disembark while moving at Cruising Speed.
Which should take precedence?
Screaming Jets would take precedence.
6. What are the firing arcs of the weapons on a Ravager?
The actual arcs that they could allow, if they moved. The front gun is 90 degrees or so, the side guns are closer to 180 degrees to their side.
7. The rules for the stinger say to roll to hit other models using
the rules for Blast Weapons. Does this mean we should use the 5th
Edition rules which include scattering?
No. Follow the rules in Codex Dark Eldar. If the weapon kills a model, place the template over that model (do not scatter) and see if any other models are hit.
8. Do poisoned blades use the rules for poisoned weapons found in the
5th Edition rulebook?
9. Do Raider Squads have to start the game embarked on their
transport, or can we use the rulebook to deploy them separately?
They can deploy separately.
10. Do Mandrakes get their cover saves while in close combat?
No. Cover saves never work in assault.
Thank you in advance for taking the time to answer my questions!
I applaude your forward thinking in approaching GW in this manner but I see some unsurmountable problems here -
1. Did ‘John Spencer Customer Service Specialist’ write the rules?
2. Does ‘John Spencer Customer Service Specialist’ operate in any official capacity beyond being a salesman?
3. Will ‘John Spencer Customer Service Specialist’ vary his answer tomorrow? Because historically this has proven to be the case in events like this.
Point 6 sticks in my mind the most and do you realise that if the side guns were close to 180 degrees and the front gun was only 90, that would mean that there would be a blind spot right in the very front of the vehicle that the side guns might not be able to target. And nobody, repeat nobody is going to deny the concentrated firepower of a Ravager when standing right at it’s nose!
All this proves is that we all have an opinion, although I do agree with most of the points he has made but does this make me ‘correct’ in any way?
This is not ‘official’ unless it carries the signature of Allesio Calvatore or something similar, sorry.
Kinda harsh but I feel better for having said this, cheers.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Even though it's not very official, I think this is a good base to work off of. I agree, mounts on our raiders should not be so limited, I think they have 180 arcs on each mount, but I guess I'll have to work that out with my opponent.
Help the kin TAKE your soul, I mean, take your soul...
I play Vassal. I'm in V40K Open Ladder.
Also, number 3 is in direct contradiction to the Errata which says characters gain +1 strength in addition to the normal +1 toughness. I agree, it's good for some rule guidance but it's still not technically official.
And point 2 is directly against the rule book.
I wouldn't put any faith in most of these answers.
I think by about half way through hte list this buy picked up the codexd and started to htink about it because the answers definately get better after the 3rd question.
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
Yeah, there are definitely inconsistencies. Go with the released FAQ over this in the case of a contradiction.
I really got to disagree with #2 - if the enemy squad is firing at once then you roll the dice for the shadowfield at once. I had a game where this occurred and the GW employee called the rulz lawyers on the phone and said that all the wounds fired from the same squad are rolled for all at once. So if you roll two "1's" and 5 "2+'s" then the lord takes 2 wounds.
At least that is how our GW store plays it and we honestly think that is the way it should be played - call it house rules or whatever.
I am pretty sure even the allocation rules in the rule book would say gather all the dice allocated to the shadowfield and roll them - taking a wound when ever a "1" is rolled.
I would also be very curious about the poisoned weapon ruling but I forget about the 5th edition rule anyway and I am just happy with one roll of a 2+ to wound.
"On a hunch, I melted them down and inhaled the fumes and read the dark eldar codex again, AND FOUND A BUNCH OF NEW RULES HIDDEN BEHIND THE OTHER WORDS..." [Gardeth on modelling & interpreting the DE Codex]
Answers like #3 and #8 (blatantly wrong) are why I never go to GW for rules issues. They have made it clear that they are not willing to make hard calls on rules questions and have shown time and time again that they lack a comperhensive knowledge of the game. Which is fine when one considers that they are a minature company first, and a gaming company 2nd.
I wouldn't say that #8 is blatantly wrong, we have the unfortunate distinction of having our poisoned weapons with their own specific rules laid out in the codex, and codex supercedes BRB. So until we get an update our poisoned weapons don't allow you to get the bonus attack for 2 CCWs, and doesn't allow rerolls to wound against opponents with a toughness equal or less than our strrength.
I'm going to pretend i never read this. Especially for the jetbike character and shadowfield rulings.