Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Well, I don't know if it realy works, but here is the plan (can only be done in apocalypse)
1 You need 3 monoliths (maybe more for some back ups) in the Phalanx formation
2 You need the reconstruction scarrabs stragetic asset
3 Two necron lords with resurrection orb.
4 Some tombspyders.
The idea is that as long your main necron units stay in the nodal grid of your monoliths, they are almost invlunerable. Because all units in the nodal grid get +1 on we'll be back and the reconstruction scarrabs asset gives you another +2 on a single unit. That means that you can select one unit each round and they automaticly recover, ALL OF THEM. Considering that if a full unit "dies" They can be resurrected in other units of the same type, meaning that if you have 3 units of 20 necron warriors and one unit "dies", you will have a unit of 40 necron warriors and one of 20. This way you could forever sustain one unit, while the rest is almost impossible to get rid of. Considering that your not bound by the force organisation chart, you could field an entire army of immortals, which will be as their name suggests, Immortal (not entirely, but almost). Of course you won't win the battle with only Immortal, but it would be realy funny to field an army thats almost imposible to get rid of.
If I made a critical error, please say so, but I thought that this is a viable army.
Sounds solid, but isint their a rule saying all rolls of 1 fail? thats the way i have always played.
"Thank him who puts me loath to this revenge on you who wrong me not for him who wrongd"
A roll of one always fails if you're rolling on a D6, just as a roll of 12 will always fail when rolling Ld. It's one of those balance issues. Also I don't think you can make ANYTHING get better than 2+ for a roll anyway, so it doesn't usually matter.
Since when can you target construction scarrabs? Never read anything about that. And I also can't remember a rule that every 1 on a d6 roll is automatic failure, But I do know that this is the case with armor, invulnerable and cover saves.
In characteristics tests, a 6 always passes and a 1 always fails. In Leadership tests, a double one always passes. In saves, a 1 always fails. I don't know about Apocalypse, but those are the only rules about dice roll exceptions I could find in the 5th Ed rules book.
Then it would be posible to get a 1+ we'll be back roll.
Ha-ha. I have figured it out. You are correct good sir. Let me explain.
The reconstruction scarabs make WBB pass on a 2+ instead of a 4+ for a single unit. This would normally be good enough. But inside the Nodal grid all WBB rolls get +1. This doesn't make WBB 1+. Instead it makes all rolls of 1 become 2, all rolls of 2 become 3, etc. etc. Thus as WBB does not state a roll of 1 always fails I believe you could make one unit per turn ALWAYS pass it's WBB. This would of course be subject to various things, but as it's Apoc. you shouldn't have too much trouble. If anyone cares for page numbers, the Nodal grid is on page 165 of the original Apocalypse book described inside of the Necron monolith Phalanx formation. NOTE: this is not the IA one but the other. The reconstruction scarabs are on page 70 of Apocalypse Reload. Last but not least the WBB rules are on page 13 of the Necron codex.
Nowhere in the description of WBB does it say ones always fail. Same for the other two resources. This seems perfectly legal to me, but feel free to tell me what you think of my reasoning.
as a necron player I can't argue with that lol
There is no "I" in "team", there is an "I" in "pie" however, as in "Meat Pie" with "Meat" being an anogram of "Team".
no, but a roll of one always fails, modifiers or not. For example, pathfinders get +X to cover saves, so they could theroetically pass on a 1, but this is not allowed.
In WHFB, saves can be 1+ or even lower, but a roll of one will always fail.