Welcome to Librarium Online!
If you have a tomb spyder and created a single scarrab swarm and then somekind of str 6 weapon would shoot at you. You give the scarrab the wound, will the scarrab then die of instant death (it's own thoughness is just 3) or it still lives because of the share thoughness rule?
Edit: I just realized I posted it in the wrong section. Can somebody move it or tell me how to move it.
Last edited by Yggdrassil; March 12th, 2009 at 22:46.
The majority toughness rules only adjust toughness for the sake of taking wounds. Instant-death ALWAYS uses the base toughness of the model nless otherwise stated. So a scarab would only take 4+ to wound from a S6 attack, but if the attack passes through, one hit will kill the entire swarm. Therefore they can take a lacannon blast for the spyder, but only one per turn (which is usually enough for me).
Yeah I learned this the hard way too. Big debate over it and it was decided that the T6 only counted for his TO WOUND roll, had to do enough damage to hurt it basically. After that, T3 comes back into play for saving rolls, etc. So if you assign S6 or higher to the scarab and it can't save...well, Gnight folks. With this in mind, I've started popping more scarabs out now (i try and avoid 2, 3+ scarab bases is not bad but then the SPYDER has T6 when he rolls to wound...so it's a trade off). Still a nice change from previous edition though!
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda