Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm fairly new to 40k - I've played only a couple of games. My rule knowledge isn't the best, so I apologize in advance if this is obvious. I play Necrons, but I don't think it's Necron specific.
Can independent characters (such as a Necron Lord) start out in a unit and then leave the unit to go solo at a later time?
Let me lay out a scenario and you tell me if it violates any rules.
I have a Necron Lord with a Destroyer body and a unit of 10 Scarbs. At the beginning of the game, on turn 1, they turboboost toward the enemy. On turn 2, the Necron Lord detaches itself from the Scarb unit and assaults a unit by itself. The Scarb unit assaults another unit. Does this violate any rules?
Any feedback is appreciated.
The only thing about IC leaving a unit is that it must be done so in the Movement phase. Therefore your hypothetical situation is perfectly legal. After the movement phase if they are still within 2" of the squad they are considered part of the squad for all things and may not say, assault a different unit, or shoot a different unit during those phases. Hope that answers your question.
It does answer my question. Thanks a lot for the quick response!
This is, in fact, something I do on the rare occassions I play a Scarab Lord. The lord breaks off in the last moment to assault a vehicle, while the scarabs harass some infantry.