Welcome to Librarium Online!
there is pleanty of questions on whether a truck with a reinforcing ram can actually ram another vehicle. at my hobby store it is allowed and they also allow you to use the +2. so my question would be
if a truck or a battle wagon, loaded with troops rams another vehicle and is destroyed the men aboard are disembarked but will they be allowed to shoot or charge.
Dang, my codex is in the car.
From memory, I'm fairly certain that the ram (ironically) doesn't allow you to ram other vehicles. It just allows you to tank shock, and gives you +2 to your front armor when resolving death or glory attempts.
In any case, if it's destroyed, then they disembark as if the vehicle had been destroyed any other way. If it's simply wrecked, then they just disembark. If the vehicle explodes, they all take a strength 3 hit and a pinning check (or strength 4 if the vehicle had an 'ard case).
After that, they can't move (since the vehicle they were in already moved), but they can run, shoot, or assault (as long as the vehicle didn't have an 'ard case).
What Grax said.
But I'm still making the argument that trukks with a ram can ram vehicles, because "ramming is a special form of tank shock"
Ignore the word "special", and you get "ramming is a type of tank shock."
The word "special" is an adjective, which means that it can change the context of the sentence, but not the meaning. Let's say I had a car. It can be a dirty car, a fast car, a red car, or a new car. But no matter what adjective I use, it is still a car.
Ramming is a special type of tank shock, it is a rare type of tank shock, it is a dangerous type of tank shock, etc. No matter what adjective is used, ramming is still a type of tank shock.
Thank you, and goodnight.
I couldn't think of anything funny, smart, or witty to say, so I said this.
Reinforced Rams let you tank shock, and since Ramming is a "special form of tank shock" you may Ram as normal. However, you will not get the +2 to your front armor as the Codex states it only works on Death or Glory.
Fair enough, although the list of possibilities concerning 'whether or not a ram is a tank shock' is beginning to grow.
As it stands, if a ram does count as a tank shock for all purposes, then:
Rams allow trukks to run vehicles, albeit at a maximum strength of 6 (18in movement), and deffrollas do d6 strength 10 hits to vehicles when you ram them.
If it doesn't, then trukks can't ram other vehicles, and deffrollas don't work on vehicles.
On that note, as it stands, zzzap guns do not auto-hit, independent characters can join and outflank along with Snikkrot's unit of kommandos, special characters (like Badrukk and Zagstrukk) do not count as a member of the unit when determining if they've reached their minimum/maximum size, and we have no idea what happens when you roll a 1 after releasing a bomb squig while inside a vehicle.
It's getting a little hard to play Orks these days. Sure hope they come out with a new FAQ soon. ^_^
And the FAQ was about psykers using powers on units inside transports.
Thanks for that GW.