Question About Monoliths and LOS - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Question About Monoliths and LOS

    Hi, all.

    As I've mentioned in a previous post, I'm new to Necrons and 40k. Some of the local players at the game store I play at have given me some great advice. One tactic in partiuclar seems too good to be true, though. I'm hoping someone can clarify.

    I have heard in past editions that units behind a Monolith could fire under/through the Monolith because it is a skimmer. Is this still the case with 5th edition, and if so, are they still eligible for the cover save?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Lemt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    1,006
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    104 (x4)

    This is no longer the case, or at least, not quite. 5th uses "true Line of Sight", so you look from the viewpoint of your minis to check LoS. If you put the 'lith on a high enough base so that your minis can see from underneath, then yes, you can fire from behind. BUT you can also be fired at...

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    212
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    True line of sight does mean exactly what it says, if you ain't got a true line of sight then you can't shoot. Although I wouldn't dare put a Monolith on a base high enough for units to shoot under it, mainly because it's handy mobile cover but also due to the fact that Necrons using the portal to teleport have to deploy within 2" of the portal. If your portal is an inch off the ground already then it might get a bit sticky...

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x0)

    Pretty sure you can shooting from under neathe floaters. Despite the LOS rule.

  6. #5
    This is for the haters... CrownAxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,308
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Hentai_Tau View Post
    Pretty sure you can shooting from under neathe floaters. Despite the LOS rule.
    That was teh case in 4ed, now its by true line of site in 5ed

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by CrownAxe View Post
    That was teh case in 4ed, now its by true line of site in 5ed
    You should just lift the mono up to indicate it's floating and check your LOS !!!!

  8. #7
    Senior Member Lemt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    1,006
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    104 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Hentai_Tau View Post
    You should just lift the mono up to indicate it's floating and check your LOS !!!!
    But then your opponent can do the same.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts