Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can Farseers use their psychic power attacks like guide and doom when embarked on a vehicle?
I believe this shouldn't be a problem and I was just making sure that I am not violating any rules by casting powers out of a vehicle since they don't need line of sight to use these powers.
Here is the situation that I had,
I had a farseer and fire dragons embarked on a falcon and drove up within 6" of a Land Raider Crusader. The fire dragons got out to melta gun the thing to bits but I knew that if they popped the land raider the space marines would tear apart my fire dragons, which was ok since I traded a small group of fire dragons for a land raider. However I didn't want to loose my farseer so I left him embarked and cast guide on the fire dragons and doomed another squad with the farseer.
I am just making sure that this is legal since it seems pretty useful for situations like this, plus being able to cast out of a vehicle adds some nice protection to the farseer.
Let me know your thoughts.
Chaos Army Builder by Caluin -PM me with email address for a copy
Ask for either Excel 97-2003 or 2007 version
Battle for Arthas Molotch Report
Yes we have established that you can when you don't need line of sight.
And as far as I can remember he counts as using up a firing hatch, without getting out and using it. You can also use those for the times you need LOS, though you shouldn't be taking Mind War anyway.
Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat
u can use any of the powers that are used "at the start of the turn"
I'm guessing Paddy doesn't recommend Mind War is because it's unreliable as a psychic power. It really boils down to a roll off between you and the opponent, which, if he gets a lucky roll, can be wasted. Compared that with our other powers (Fortune, Guide, Doom, Storm) which the only chance of failing is our psychic power test.
It's not that Mindwar is useless, it's effective in picking out special weapons in units with lower leadership values, which in turn decreases the chance of surviving the attack. But there's too much left to the roll of the dice, and plus where Mindwar is defendable with the ample cover saves in 5th (which I have to disagree with... but...), your chaces just keep dropping.
Oh, and yes, can cast psychic powers in transport. Yeah, sorry for rambling.
"If we all reacted the same way, we'd be predictable, and there's always more than one way to view a situation. What's true for the group is also true for the individual. It's simple: Overspecialize, and you breed in weakness. It's slow death." - Major Kusanagi, Ghost in the Shell
As has been said, any psychic power that is used atthe start of the Eldar turn. You can't use things like Mind War or Eldritch Storm because they require LoS and the Falcon/Serpent Chassis has no fire points. Also, if I remember the rules correctly, you have to have the Farseer get out of the Falcon with the fire Dragons since the lot count as a squad (only one squad can get in a transport vehicle at a time). Therefore you would have to have the Farseer Dragons get out and if you wanted you could have the Dragons run off to kill the LRC whilst the Farseer stands about on his own. I don't think the dragons can run off and the Farseer gets back in the Falcon.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
http://www.gamesandhobbies.com/ New Location Open on the north end!
The joined unit could disembark, the fire dragons could move away, the farseer could re-embark, the vehicle could folow the fire dragons a little distance, then the spells could be cast in the shooting phase?
Or even the units could be together in the vehicle, but they could "split" inside it, and the fire dragons could get out, leaving the Farseer inside, and both units free to move.