Deep Striking Hive Tyrant - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member Magicuser211's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Deep Striking Hive Tyrant

    Has anyone had any luck with this? Since u can give him wings, and therefore he counts as jump infantry "in all respects" doesnt that mean u can Deep Strike him? I have never seen people talk about it... is it just not effective?

    I know not what weapons World War 3 will be fought with. All I know is that World War 4 will be fought with sticks and stones.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member Aradai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    77 (x1)

    This doesn't answer the question and I'm curious myself but...

    A Flyrant would more often than not be able to fire turn 1. Turn 2 at the very latest. Deep striking means you have a 50/50 chance of engaging in turn two. (minus Lictor modifiers if used) Consider that you only have 1/3 to land exactly where you want and in cover. If you fail every single AP 2 weapon will target the Flyrant and probably take him down. The idea of deepstriking such a valuable unit sounds risky at best. They need to be in cover at all times since they're much squishier than a walking tyrant with guards.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Lemt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    1,006
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    104 (x4)

    I agree DS is too risky. He moves more than enough to get where he wants, and no DS mishaps to screw you.

    I'd recommend Having Flyrants be shooty. He'll probably take some hits before he gets in CC anyways, so better to stay at a distance. If your really want to go CC, make him walk there and give him some guards to absorb damage.

  5. #4
    LO Zealot magnet_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    126 (x4)

    Yes you can DS a flyrant. I've attempted it a couple of times and it's not worth. They're so mobile anyways that you can in range quite easily. On top of that, there's the psychological effect of having such a powerful critter moving around from turn 1. If you could assault the turn you arrive from DS (like lictors) then it would be worth it, but as it stands DSing is a risk (due to the mishap table) and there's always the change that it won't arrive till turn 5.

    It can be fun to do, but I wouldn't recommend it for tourney play.
    Tim Wright

    "The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
    -John Gilmore

  6. #5
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    Reasons NOT to DS your flyrant.

    1) danger of mishap
    2) no cover, every gun will be aimed at it
    3) can be assaulted
    4) may not arrive until turns 3,4 or 5

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    25
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    WaitWaitWait...
    Winged Hive Tyrants can Deep Strike?

    I NEVER KNEW THIS!
    (Haha no one is going to like this...)

  8. #7
    Senior Member grantneodude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Age
    27
    Posts
    516
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x2)

    Actually any Tyranid equipped with wings could DS. I was just looking, and thinking about doing an army like that. Might be fun. Three squads of winged warriors for FA, Winged HT for HQ, three Lictors, and scuttlers on all my troops. Nothing on the table first turn and it all comes on from places other than my own board edge. At the very least it would be interesting to try out for a game or two.

    On DSing the HT, I think the main reason you don't see it mentioned is the danger, and the fact that he is firing turn 2 almost guaranteed, if he starts on the board.
    Tyranids & Daemons: Soul & Biomatter please.

    LO Rules

  9. #8
    Member Hive Node's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    In your basement
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -9 (x0)

    it's a monstrous creature

    can't deep strike

    unless there is a unit type called jump infantry monstrous creature, which there is not

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    22
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Hive Node View Post
    it's a monstrous creature

    can't deep strike

    unless there is a unit type called jump infantry monstrous creature, which there is not
    No, since you give it wings it gets all of the jump infantry rules. If you wanted to I guess you could call it a jump infantry monstrous creature.

  11. #10
    Member Hive Node's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    In your basement
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -9 (x0)

    well it's dumb because it will deep strike and get blown to bits

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts