Welcome to Librarium Online!
Ok so, I have been studying my tail off on some Tyranid army lists, game rules, and the tyranid codex. I have come across a few rules in the Tyranid codex I need clarifying.
First is the Assault X weapons. The Venom Cannon is an Assault X weapon, which means it fires as many times as the creature has attacks, but if this is on a monstrous creature, say a Carnifex, does it allow the Carnifex to fire the VC twice, as well as a barbed strangler? I mean as far as the rules are stated, this should be possible.
Second question is about the Barbed Strangler and Deathspitter. Now I was watching a battle report of a Tyranid vs. some other army. And the Tyranid player, after firing his Barbed Strangler, rolled the die to see if it hit, or strayed off somewhere else. Is this true? Do you need to roll to see if it hits that spot, or strays?
Now these are just questions that bothered me going over the Codex, seeing as if you fire a non-ordnance, non-barrage weapon, you shouldn't have to roll to see if it landed on target, if you rolled to hit with the weapon in the first place. And it seems a little over the top to be able to fire the Venom Cannon twice, but then again, it can only glance non-open topped vehicles.
Thanks for your time and answers.
On a carnifex the venom cannon fires 2 shots, becasue it has 2 attacks basic. Its important to note that sything tallons do not add extra shots. On a hive tyrant, youd have 3 shots, because it has 3 basic attacks. And yes you can fire a venom cannon then a barbed strngler on a fex, in fact theres a type of fex that relys on this principle, the sniper fex.
As for the second question, all blast template weapons roll a scatter dice and 2d6, then subtract balistic skill to shoot, be they ordinace, plasma cannons, battle cannon shots, or barbed stranglers they all use the 2d6 system.
Hope this helps
Thanks Heiro, can you just give me the page in the rulebook or codex that states the scatter dice rule, because ive looked under blast weapons, and theres nothing there. I dont know if im missing it or what, but I cant find it.
Could you perhaps have a fourth edition rule book? The "all blasts scatter" is new to fifth. Check the cover. You want it to be red, not greyish. If you have the correct rulebook, it's on page 30, under Blasts. Also you do not have to roll to hit anymore. You simply select target and then roll to see if it scatters.
I got my rulebook in the Battle for Macragge box, if that helps at all. I am not sure if it is 4th or 5th addition. It might be since it makes no mention whatsoever of the scatter rule.
That's the 4th edition rulebook you have, battle for macragge was 4th starterset.
That's one of the differences between 4th and 5th. In 4th, you roll to hit with the Barbed Strangler. It doesn't scatter, just hit or miss.
In 5th, all blast weapons automatically hit. Whether its Ordinance or Assault, they just have to roll for scatter.
Thanks for the update on that, I geuss ill have to update my rulebook, also, I had bought the Tyranid Codex at that same time as well, is that the 4th edition codex? It doesnt have the Red Terror or Old One Eye in it, so I assume its 5th.
No, the tyranid codex you've got is the most recent. There isn't an update for 5th yet. So far only Marines codex have been updated for 5th. Imperial Guards new codex is coming out in May. Everything else is 4th. Rules for Red Terror and Old One Eye can be found on GW website and is free for download. Regarding 5th rulebook, I'd recommend the small book found from the Assault on Black Reach starter set. You can find it online for as low as $10+ship.
The Assault on Black Reach rulebook is great, because it is so small and handy. As for the Tyranid special characters, note that some tournaments may not allow them, so ask first.
Last edited by Lemt; March 29th, 2009 at 20:46.