Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does defend stack? i know it says it minus 1 attack every assult phase but recently a guy who plays at my local hobby store informed me that it did not. i could use a second opinion on this so if you have any information on this subject please post.
Yes its does exactly what it says in the codex. Remember the codex overpowers the rule book.
Every assault phase the opponents models get minus one attack until they reach 1 the opponent cant have 0 attacks.
When i first saw this thread i thought it was gonna be something like 2 dire avenger units with defend charging someone. Then it might stack but im not sure with my situation.
I believe the rule is that every phase, it's the opponent's Attacks minus one. It doesn't continue to drop every assault phase, if that's the question. I don't have my codex on me for the exact wording but that is by FAR the intent of the rule, and I don't think someone can so easily claim that it's different.
Page 30 Eldar Codex, ‘Defend’ is an ability to reduce the enemy models attacks towards the Exarch’s squad by 1 of each assault phase.
Mulitple Exarch’s squads would attract this rule for each of them if the enemy split its attacks between them, so it does stack.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
two people replied but it's every assult phrase-1
It does not drop by 1 every assault phase, it just affects each assault phase (not just the first like some powers).
So if you are in combat for 3 player turns (not 3 rounds), the opponent is still at just -1 to each model's attack, not -3.
Eldar Record: 11-8-3
Battle reports, painting and more at Meandering the Dune Sea
The wording is that each model that attacks the unit loses one attack. So multiple units of dire avengers would not stack as it is individual to each model not the enemy unit.
2 squads of dire avengers. 1 has defend, 1 doesn't.
If 5 models attack with 2 attacks each against the first unit then those 5 instead get 1 attack each. If 3 other members of that enemy unit attack the second, they would get 6 attacks total (2 each, not 1).
As for losing an attack each assault phase, I don't think you would stack those. The minimum 1 is talking about models that only have one attack in the first place (they can't go to 0 ).