Welcome to Librarium Online!
Few questions about our proud skimmers and tank shock. Some of them are pretty obvious as I think, but I'm just starting WH40k (was playing WFB, so these vehicle rules are new to me).
1. Can I shock while going flat out? While using Star Engines?
2. What if unit I want to shock is behind difficult or even impassible terrain? Skimmers ignore terrain, so can I fly over that fence and jump right onto that Mon-Keigh mammals? Not taking any dangerous terrain tests, etc.
3. Can I make a turn after tank shock? What if I will need to pump into enemy models, ie. I'm in the middle of some unit (oops)?
Any other good tricks with skimmers you know?
1) flat out definitely, star engines is debatable do to it not taking place during the movement phase regardless of the logic, and the Tank Shock rules say you do it instead of "moving normally." The legalese of the statement if what your local gamers have to interpret if "move normally" equals movement phase.
a) IMO I would interpret star engines allows additional movement. I would home-rule it could be used to further extend a tank shock declared during the movement phase meaning no change of direction and the tank shock had to be used in the movement phase. Reason for this is star engines prevent shooting so the player is not double-dipping during the shooting phase, and is a nice tactical move if currently shaken or weapons destroyed. I would like to see a 5th edition update to star engines saying that it extends your flat out movement by 12". A model that uses star drive engines may not shoot during the shooting phase.
2) terrain only has normal effects when tank shocking. Dangerous terrain checks, etc if applicable.
3) you should not be able to turn. You give up your movement to make a tank shock attack (p68 second para under Tank Shock!) steps
a) declare tank shock
b) point tank in desired direction
c) declare distance to travel
d) move 'til you hit something (skimmer ignore terrain unless they start or end in it)
e) resolve the tank shock. If a unit and not destroyed by Death or Glory continue movement so you can shock multiple units. If hit a vehicle, measure distance traveled to determine bonus for speed. If you contact friendly you stop.
Last edited by Torden; April 1st, 2009 at 19:10.
A good way to turn after Tank Shocking, if you're not going to be shooting or you have an ineffective shooting phase, is to activate Star Engines after Tank Shocking, which will let you move 12, including turning.
Torden, your #2 and #3d seem to be conflicting. You say that you have to follow normal terrain rules, but then you say that skimmers can fly over terrain. Since the OP was specifically asking about Skimmers there might be some confusion there.
Also, can skimmers fly over units when tank shocking/ramming? I would assume that they can, since nothing states otherwise, but clarification would be nice.
In the following situations, the 'O' is the Wave Serpent, the 'X' is a Rhino, the 'V's are my troops, and the 'A's are enemy troops.
Can I fly over my troops (V) and tank shock his troops (A) and ram the Rhino (X)? If I wanted, could I fly over both troops and just ram his Rhino?
Risking to bring up that dangerous discussion, but again about Star Engines...
Nowhere in the rulebook is stated that you must shock in movement phase. Exact wording is "When moving a tank...", sorry for being rules-lawyer here.
I don't want to start the whole star engines thing again the side that says it is not possible say because it is done instead of moving normally it you can't. because only during the movement phase can you move normally. Best to see how people in your area play it.
there are a couple of threads about it that I'm sure a search could find if you need to see more complete arguements.
"When moving a tank, the player can declare that the vehicle is going to attempt to make a tank shock attack instead of moving normally."
The bold section is the debatable one, and as someone said above, find out the local ruling unless you can manage to get an official GW ruling.
The question is "does star engines count as "moving normally" and make the vehicle eligble for tank shocking?"
If I'm going flat out while trying to tanks shock someone, does my tank get cover save against shot from the model that's going to stop it (death or glory)? And also can it crash if immobilized in that matter?
The rules on that are pretty vague.
Either way you go on it, I think that both results should use the same logic. So if you get the save, then you will also be wrecked if immobilized. But if you don't get the save, then immobilized won't cause a wreck.
I would personally lean towards not allowing the save, because both RAW refer to previous turns/movement phases, and all of this is happening during the current movement phase. One thing to consider is if there is a precedence with skimmers moving flat out into terrain. Does that immobilized result cause a crash, since that is during the current movement phase as well?