Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does Drazhar's bodyguard special rule have any effect in 5th edition? Seeing as in 5th edition an Independent Character that has taken a retinue loses his independent character status until the retinue is completely killed, until this happens he is an upgrade character. If he is not an independent character then he can not be picked out in close combat. It seems to me this completely destroys Drazhar's bodyguard rule because he can only be taken as part of a retinue.
Now he may be worth taking because of the Disemboweller Blades, but I'm not sure he is worth the points for that.
Do any of you use him?
Eyes without life, maggot-ridden corpses, mountains of skulls.
These are some of my favourite things.
- Dracon Borkor
You're right. His bodyguard rule is rendered useless in 5th edition. We did the math on his disemboweller blades a while ago, and 3 normal Incubi usually perform better for fewer points.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
The bodyguard rule isn't totally useless now but certainly much less useful, Defensively it serves no purpose but In rare situations you might want to swap the lord with drazhar so that the Lord is in base to base with an IC and can direct attacks against them or something similar.
Realistically though he is a purchase reserved for an 8 strong retinue with plenty of points to spare.
I use him in some high point games, purely because I like him!