Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This is something of a quick breakdown of what happend the last game I played against my mates Space Wolves;
Unit of marines dismantles my 12 strong warrior unit and does not persue or sweeping advance.
2 necrons SURVIVE and run 5 inches
following turn, monolith pulls the unit back through its portal and 10 warriors head for the table edge.
this went on for 3 turns as my monolith was imobilised
is that right??
As for the second part, yes, the monolith can still teleport, and do pretty much everything else it can do, while immobilized. Beware: If your opponent parks a vehicle in front of the portal, and you're immobilized, you don't get to use the portal anymore. That's a sneaky tactic I've seen done. It works.
I think he's saying that 2 warriors survived from the assault (i'm assuming no power weapons?) with 10 as debris on the ground. Assuming all 10 tipped over warriors are within 6" of the two that are retreating, the 10 roll for WBB and join the 2 retreating units. Keep in mind that if you go over the half-mark of unit size they can regroup (barring an enemy unit nearby). If they aren't, they retreat more. If they are then roll to regroup. After all this mess, then you can portal with the monolith, and whatever models of the 10 before failed their WBB can reroll and join the unit coming out of the portal. Since you said 10 ended up getting back total, then you must have some really bad luck rolling leadership tests or the guy your facing has a unit right next to them the entire time.
Anyways... I think that's what you're saying... did I miss anything cause it was unclear exactly what you were asking about.
After 2 turns:
"What the #%&! I killed 14 warriors and only 2 actually died?!"
"Looks like you're going to have to do something else!"
The Monolith is allowed to teleport a broken unit. (The Lord with the Veil is not, as he cannot join a unit that is fleeing, but that's an aside.)
Upon your first teleportation, you get to reroll any pertinent WBBs from that unit; but yes, you can keep chain-teleporting them through the 'lith turn after turn to keep them on the board or until they successfully rally.
thanks guys, what I was asking is really, If a unit is broken and fleeing to the table edge can I still drag em back through the monolith.
Should have been a bit clearer hehe
cheers guys. Helps resolve that one, its a nice way of fending off the phase out rule