Welcome to Librarium Online!
I have an idea for my Monolith that will use the Line of Site rules to our advantage. Since a Monolith is a skimmer it seems that it would be alright to elevate it off of a platform so that units behind the Monolith can shoot "through" it. However, sometimes it is useful to have the Monolith grounded to block line of site and protect the units behind it. I was thinking of making a simple platform with a lift that could go up or down as needed. Then when the Monolith is in its moving phase I could not only move it in a direction but could also raise or lower it depending on the desired position. What do you think? Would this be against any rules?
I don't think it's explicitly against the rules to have it elevated or not, but I don't think it's allowed to just rise and sink when it wants. I think it has to be at the same height all the way through. I don't have my rulebook on me just now, so can't check it. If it was allowed it would be declared pretty cheesy no doubt.
This would be against the rules (Models need to be on the base they come with), and i don't see any opponent allowing such a contraption
It seems like this would be more realistic since it actually would be raising and lowering during a real battle. However, if its not going to be accepted by opponents I'll scratch the idea.
it states in the rule book under the section of skimmers been immobilised somewhere that the only point in a game where skimmer can be taken off its base is when it is immobilised.
and for changing height thing if ur that bad at wanting to mess about like that then good luck finding opponents its just not with the spirit of the game
"Should take you a while though because of your sloth like pace"
Click here and watch Gedderz try and cross the road
On Page 39 of the Necron Codex in the Necron Tactics Picture there is clearly a Monolith on a skimmer base so i think it is legal to have it on a base but cheesey even as a necron player myself to change its elevation just to gain an advantage.
The problem with most of the pictures in the codex is that a bunch of them were essentially prototype models for the pictures used in the codex
that and since theire is essentially a big hole in the bottom of the monolith, a flying base will have no effect
I never said anything about wanting to take the Monolith off of the base.it states in the rule book under the section of skimmers been immobilised somewhere that the only point in a game where skimmer can be taken off its base is when it is immobilised.Yeah, I know its legal to have it raised. That's where I got the idea.On Page 39 of the Necron Codex in the Necron Tactics Picture there is clearly a Monolith on a skimmer base so i think it is legal to have it on a base but cheesey even as a necron player myself to change its elevation just to gain an advantage.
I really wasn't that concerned about getting the tactical advantage by having it raise and lower. I was just thinking it would be cool and more realistic as this is what the skimmer would really be doing as it was lowering to let troops out. The tactical advantage was just a plus, but not really needed since the Monolith is a powerhouse the way it is.
---------- Post added at 232 ---------- Previous post was at 22:58 ----------
Some level of creative licence can be taken with the basing of models. For example scenic bases are allowed, as long as you don't have 50 space marines each on 60 mm scenic bases. A monolith is perfect for a scenic base as it is likely to be a centerpiece of the army. A mechanism to raise and lower the monolith is great as you can represent an immobilised monolith easily. Raising and lowering the monolith at will, most people won't like that. Do it for the cool factor of actually having a skimming monolith that can be immobilised properly. Bending the rules is not really a tactical advantage and would cost you sportsman points in tournaments (probably lose more than you would get for the cool base and conversion)
CrownAxe seems to be in a bad mood, perhaps at the suggestion of rules bending. Do the conversion for awesomeness, not for evil. I'm also told that early monoliths came with flying bases, GW gave up as it was a pretty hopeless idea with their existing flying bases.
W/D/L Ork Tide 22/1/14
Click here to feed me some squigs
This wouldn't be allowed, primarily because then ALL skimmers could do it. Just raise em up, get that right angle, etc. Bases like stated are to be the ones they come with (unless like us, doesn't come with one). Adding a 'fixed' base is ok, but moving parts like that are stretching it, even though I don't believe the rules address this specifically...it's implied.
Nice try though, like the idea!
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda