Welcome to Librarium Online!
Ive posted this here as I'm a Witch Hunter player, though i wish to know your opinion on this specific rule.
Can a Psychic hood cancel Warlock power's? Unlike Tyranid ones which state they cant be canceled, though they dont need a Ld test, and the wargear does state after the test.
Any help is apreciated!
I cant seem to find a straight answer on this question anywhere, and if possible id be extremely grateful to anyone who CAN answer and again if possible with a rule outlining it (my Eldar mate needs to see these things).
I believe if they have to take a Psychic test, then the Psychic Hood can cancel it (if it is within range). If not, then no (and I don't believe Warlock powers require Psychic tests).
Last edited by jy2; April 15th, 2009 at 15:57.
That is correct, none of the warlock powers require Ld test's and are considered 'always on'. This is all well and good, but how about the likes of destructor (again i realise it still does not require a Ld test, just a consideration as it is a direct attack)?
The whole reason i started questioning the ruling was another thread that i read a few weeks ago with this:
Chapter Approved Codex Eldar Q&A v2.0
Q. Can a Space Marine Psychic Hood work against Warlock powers?
And if so, how? When do you get a chance to nullify the Warlock power?
A. Against Enhance, Embolden and Conceal, the Librarian can use his
Psychic Hood at the start of a Space Marine turn against one Warlock. If he
successfully nullifies the power then it has no effect for the rest of the Space
Marine turn. Against Destructor it works as normal, except of course that there
is no need for the Warlock to pass a Psychic test first simply announce you
are using the Psychic Hood when the Eldar player declares he is using
Last edited by Montalius; April 15th, 2009 at 16:04. Reason: Added Text
Could you give a link to that thread and that FAQ entry. I can't find this in either the Witch hunter, SM, or Eldar codex FAQ from Games Workshop.
The source is chapter approved, not GW.
After seeing that FAQ, i would question wether or not you are able to, but at my local game shop we dont use chapter approved so for me it would be a no go. Only if a leadership test is take then you can try and cancel the power.
Also, what about a shadow seer? can you turn off thier phsycic power for a turn if 1. your within the range of the hood and, 2. do you have to have range from the shadow seers power to use it?
Thanks to everyone who has responded and answered my questions in any way.
As said above it is indeed chapter approved, and not from GW. Also it seems a little out of date but here is the only link i can seem to find to it:
Im not sure, but when this was written were warlock powers requiring Ld tests?
Again, just food for though.
Definitely out of date, it should be on the GW site? If it's not covered I suggest house ruling or 4+ing it each game.
In the exact wording for the psychic hood it says there needs to be a psychic test. No psychic test, then you can't use the hood. The same thing goes for Tyranid powers as well as warlock ones.
Children of Isha